Saturday, 16 May 2015

Hello & Welcome To My Blog!


My name is Keren. I am 31 years old and I love to read. I live and breathe books.
I love to read mainly NA but will read YA too. I also love Adult fiction, Erotica, M/M and F/F. So please beware that not all the reviews on my blog will be suitable for younger eyes!
Whether you are a new visitor or someone I know, thank you for taking the time to visit my blog!
I don't blog everyday as I am usually busy with my nose buried in a book. Instead I tend to come on when I have a review to post. Though sometimes I may post something book related but seemingly a bit random :)

Stay tuned for REVIEWS, INTERVIEWS, GIVEAWAYS, GUEST POSTS & BOOK COVER REVEALS in the near future.

Thank you for coming by and taking a look. Feel free to leave a comment, contact me, follow my blog and follow me on
Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads & Shelfari

I now also have an author blog. I'd love to see you there.



Review of BAD COMPANY by Lissa Jay


Title: BAD COMPANY
Author: Lissa Jay
Publication Date: April 16th 2015
Source: e-ARC provided by Net Galley for review


Please note that this book is intended for ages 18+. It contains violence, scenes of a sexual nature and a hot biker with a potty mouth.

Scottish psychologist Doctor Kelly Ann Darrow loves her career and has never permitted her feelings to impact her professionalism, but when biker Cameron Iss arrives in her care, she finds herself inexplicably drawn to the unconscious man. His tattoos and the mysterious circumstances of his arrival intrigue her to distraction.

Cameron Iss awakes in a strange country with no memory of how he got there and no knowledge of who he is. He takes out his frustrations at his amnesia on the sexy doctor enlisted with helping him unlock his mind.

A mutual chemistry forms between them, and Kelly is plagued with guilt at her unethical and inappropriate attraction to this, her most perplexing patient yet. 

As his memories begin to return and they discover more about his violent past and his connection with a motorcycle club in America, the element of danger both excites and frightens Kelly, and nothing can douse the erotic fire he has sparked inside her.

Will Kelly risk her career, her reputation, and all she is for the man who has ignited a dormant passion within her or will his returning memories steal him away for good?

*I Hereby Award This Book 5 Wings!*

*Warning: Mini rant ahead...*

Now I don't know about you, but I have recently seen reviews on Goodreads calling Cameron a whiny pussy. I hadn't heard anything like this before I read the book, but now I've got to make my opinion on this little comment known. It is complete and utter bullshit! I mean, I totally and utterly fell in love with this guy from the start and nothing about him is whiny and he is most certainly not a pussy.
I love MC books, which is what made me pick this book up and I think I know where these kind of comments about Cameron came from. I spent last night thinking about it after I had finished the book. The thing is, men in MC books are hulking, tattooed Gods of men that have women quivering at the knees and melting into puddles of their own juices. I get that, I love that, I feel that way reading such books myself. But I felt that for this book too.  In a way, Bad Company is not your "typical" MC book - perhaps this is because you expect the guy to be this bad boy prick that treats women like shit but you end up falling for him anyway because somewhere down the line he has redeeming qualities. Fair enough. You are entitled to your own opinion. And maybe the person who said Cameron was a whiny pussy was basing their opinion on the fact that he is more sensitive in nature than many MC lead characters. Well I happen to think that his sensitive nature is a good thing. He is a broken, hollow shell of a man who has post-traumatic amnesia. He doesn't remember being the ladies man that fucked them and left them in his wake. Instead, he wakes up in a strange place, surrounded by strange people and he is a stranger to himself. Surely then, it is understandable that he isn't the guy he used to be because he has no memory of that guy. And if you ask me, that's a good thing because it allows him to be the kind of guy that comes naturally to him and that guy is still a God of a man. He still has your knees quivering, your panties melting away and your body wanting to spontaneously combust. 
So, if you want a bad boy who fucks you, leaves you and has no redeeming qualities, then maybe this book isn't for you. But if you want a guy who is a little broken, who has to fit the jigsaw pieces of his life back together, a guy who is smoulderingly sexy and leaves you hot under the collar, then maybe this book is for you. 

Now, that rant was longer than I had intended, but it had to be said. With that done, here's my actual review:

This story had me sucked in from the very first word, I just knew this book was going to give my heart a beating and I fell in head first... or maybe heart first. 

Cameron Iss is a strange guy in a strange place, he doesn't know who he is, how he fits in and he has no memory of what brought him from America to Scotland. All he knows is that he's in hospital, with a sexy as all get-out doctor that asks him questions he has no way to answer. Kelly Darrow is his psychiatrist, but he wishes she was oh so more than that. He's clearly attracted to her and she to him, he can see it in her eyes, but she is a woman of ethics, a woman who wouldn't dare defy the oath she took when she became a doctor. Although Cameron doesn't know who he is or why he's here, what he does know is that his desire for this woman is strong. 
Kelly doesn't know what it is, but something attracts her to the unconscious patient she sees before her. How can she be attracted to a man she doesn't know? A man she hasn't even spoken to before... A man who is muscular, tattooed and has an edge of danger... Most of all, a man who is a patient? Kelly is a sensible, professional woman who doesn't cross the boundaries that would see her struck off as a doctor. She mustn't let the lines get blurred... but the more she looks at those lines, the more they blur, the more they seem to disappear... It's a dangerous line she treads, but she can't help feeling the magnetic draw of this mysterious, handsome man. Her desire might just be stronger than her willpower... 

This book is beautifully written and just like Cameron, it has a magnetic draw to it that sucked me in and refused to spit me out. I went on a roller coaster of emotion and this was one ride I didn't want to end. The whole time that the two were doing the "will they? won't they?" thing, I was distraught at the fact that they indeed might not. I rooted for them to be a couple. I wanted Kelly to take a chance on her heart, ethics be damned. I needed Cameron to make her see that whilst he couldn't remember who he was, maybe having a clean slate might turn out to be a good thing. How many times have we made mistakes in our lives that we wanted to forget? We might not be able to, but Cameron could. 

I loved both main characters in this story, and Cameron easily won my heart. It was difficult for this broken man to piece his life back together. I truly felt a lot of empathy for the guy. He was sensitive and compassionate, not the bad-boy from the MC that I expected him to be. Sure, in his past he was a lot more wild, but along his journey, he became more and more lovable, more tame than you might expect from the tattoos and bulging muscles. Never judge a book by it's cover because deep inside is what matters the most. Cameron isn't afraid to show his more vulnerable side and this only endeared me to him more - I actually like a guy who isn't ashamed to cry. 

As Kelly helped Cameron slot the pieces of his life back into place, I was scared of what would happen if he went back to America, he would break Kelly's heart... and mine along with it. 

The way Lissa Jay told this story was passionate, deep and incisive. I loved the dual POV narrative as it helped me understand both characters more fully. I commend Lissa on a story beautifully told that made me laugh, shout expletives and sob like a newborn baby. I'm glad I gave this book a chance, as now I have found both a series and an author I know I will come to love more than I already do. I can't wait for book two in the series. It may not be mainly about Cameron, but I sure hope he makes an appearance somewhere. I look forward to learning more about the boys from his MC and seeing if I come to love them as much, to champion them as much as I did with him. 

Thank you for coming by to read my review. If you would like to purchase your copy of Bad Company and get to know the characters that took my heart, here are the links. Hope to see you again soon. 






Friday, 8 May 2015

Welcome To My Stop On The SALVATION & SECRETS Blog Tour!

To read my review of Loyalty & Lies (Chastity Falls #1), click here!


AUTHOR: L.A Cotton
PUBLICATION DATE: April 17th 2015
SOURCE: eARC provided by author for blog tour purposes

Chastity Falls was supposed to be Ana Parry’s fresh start. But what started as her salvation soon became her undoing.

Four months after losing the very thing that gave her reason again, Ana is back at Chastity Falls. Holding on by a thread and trying hard to forget about Jackson isn’t easy when she’s determined to uncover the Donohue’s biggest secrets.

Jackson Pierce knew he was playing with fire when he pursued the girl with pain in her eyes. But there was something about her and he just had to know more.

Walking away from Ana was the hardest thing he’s ever done, and four months on, he refuses to forget. He can’t. Rising tensions with Reibeckitt Valley mean Ana is still in harm’s way and, this time, Jackson is determined to protect her—at all costs.

Loyalty drove them apart, but will secrets piece them back together? Or tear them apart for good?

Salvation will be earned, secrets will be unveiled. Welcome to Chastity Falls

*I Hereby Award This Book 5 Wings!*

This is book TWO in the series, so if you haven't read book one, you may want to avoid my review!
As with Loyalty and Lies, Ana and Jax are totally brilliant in Salvation and Secrets. They are two characters that are easy to connect with. Whether you have been in a similar situation or not, you find yourself empathising with the pair. We pick up where book one left off, with Ana and Jax no longer being together. He broke it off because he thought he was doing the right thing. The Donahue family would always have Ana in their sights if the pair remained together, but if Jackson let her go, then surely they'd let sleeping dogs lie. Wouldn't they?
In hindsight, Jackson realises that it may not have been the best plan and he can't stop thinking about the beautiful, most amazing girl that makes him feel things like no other. 
Ana can't seem to forget about him. She wants to avoid him at all costs and that plan goes well... for a while anyway. 

The back story that we have been learning about the Donahue family continues. Braiden continues to be a jack ass of the highest order. Jackson continues to try and keep Braiden's temper in check. He's not happy with the way his friend goes about things, kicking ass and asking no questions. If he's not careful, someone is going to get hurt.

I absolutely loved learning more about the history of the Donahue's as Ana dug into their background. It provided more insight into some things and put them into perspective. I hated the fact that Ana and Jax were now apart. But he thought he was keeping her out of harm's reach - although in reality it came to be the worst possible decision. The story really pulled on my heartstrings. I went on a emotional roller coaster with the pair. 
This story is fast-paced, well-timed and beautifully written. There's more than enough drama to keep you on the edge of your seats and enough of the mushy stuff to keep your head in the clouds with love in the air. 
I am truly grateful to have received an ARC of this book and cannot wait to get a signed copy when I am lucky enough to meet Lianne Cotton at Second City Signing in July. 
Well done Lianne on another astounding novel and thank you for giving me more Jax to swoon over.

Thank you for coming by for my stop on the tour.


Tuesday, 14 April 2015

*Release Day Giveaway* READY TO LOVE AGAIN by Keren Hughes


Author: Keren Hughes
Publication Date: April 14th 2015

Synopsis:

For Alyssa Young, life has never been easy. But the hardest thing of all was two years ago when her husband Ethan committed suicide…

Moving town was her only option, she had to get out of the town where she grew up and all the buildings and people reminded her of what she had lost. 

She found a new job at Emerging Butterfly Publishing House and that was where she met editor, Chase Williams.

Although she has no romantic interest in him, he pursues her…

Of course he's good looking. He's also smart, funny, and she loves spending time with him. But Alyssa can't put the past to rest. 

He wants Alyssa to open up to him and fall in love with him the way he fell for her the moment he met her.

Can Chase convince Alyssa that the time is right and she’s ready to love again?

*This is the second novel in The Sweet Romance Series, but can be read as a stand alone*

Happy release day to me. This is the third book I have written, the second in its series. This book is very dear to my heart. I hope you all will love it the way I do. 
I have a giveaway to celebrate the release of RTLA. All you have to do is follow the instructions in the Rafflecopter widget and take note of the Terms and Conditions below. Simple :)

Terms and Conditions:
  • Entrants MUST do all of the entries required from the Rafflecopter widget.
  • Entrants will be contacted via email to notify them  if they win. They MUST reply within ONE week or the prize will be given to somebody else.
  • I will NOT be held personally responsible for loss or damage to the paperbacks and/or swag bag that may happen during shipping. 
  • Winner of the Second City Signing ticket should be a UK resident and able to travel to Birmingham on 18th & 19th July 2015.

Monday, 13 April 2015

Review of KEEP IT SECRET by Olivia Snow


Title: KEEP IT SECRET
Author: Olivia Snow
Publication Date: November 18th 2014
Source: ecopy provided by author in exchange for an honest review

**Mature Content Warning** Recommended for ages 17+ due to language and sexual content.

After the unexpected death of her father, and her mother's emotional abandonment, Ava Veneziano's life is turned upside down...

She turns to drugs, sex, and alcohol as a way to cope with all the destruction in her life, inconsequence, she flunks a grade and loses touch with her favorite cousin Vanessa.

Five years later, Ava and her mother are reunited with the family they'd lost touch with and they end up moving into their home.

Enter Vanessa Saint John...

Vanessa is unawarely beautiful, with an overbearing and controlling mother. She's never been given the opportunity to have a boyfriend or experience life like a normal seventeen year old girl.

However, all of that changes when her cousin Ava moves in, and she finally gets the attention of Gabriel Mason.

The same boy who's also caught the attention of her beloved cousin.

*I Hereby Award This Book 5 Wings!*

I will admit, I have procrastinated over writing this review. I haven't known what to say, or how to feel. This story left me with a book-hangover the size of the country. I still don't really know what to say about it. I don't want to spoil other people's enjoyment of it. I will say this, prepare yourself for heartbreak and have a box or two of tissues at your side as you reach the end.
Ava's father dies, leaving her world in shreds. She has to become the adult and care for her mother, doing all the things for her mother that she should be doing for her daughter - she fails her daughter epically. Ava turns to drugs, alcohol and sex with multiple partners to numb the pain inside. But nothing can ever truly be enough to block out the death of her beloved father.
Then Ava and her mother are invited to live with her uncle and auntie, the Saint John's. That doesn't exactly excite Ava considering they gave up on her and didn't help out at all after the death of her father. The only person she is remotely looking forward to seeing is Vanessa Saint John, her cousin.
Once Rose and Ava move in with the Saint John's, Ava looks to hook up with the first hot guy she finds. And boy is he hot! Gabriel Mason has the looks, the megawatt smile, everything Ava needs to take her mind off her current predicament. She did not want to move in with the Saint John's so this distraction will do just nicely. But there's more to it than meets the eye. It seems that cousin Vanessa has had her eye on a boy all summer. I bet you can't guess who?!

This story really tugged at my heartstrings. It's great how it's told from dual POV's, both Ava and cousin Van. You really get a feel for both girls. One so broken and one who looks to have everything, but looks can be deceptive. Is anything really as it seems? One thing is for sure, if you scratch the surface, you will find that not all that glitters is gold. Ava and Van are about to have their hearts shattered when their worlds collide.

For only being her debut novel, Olivia Snow writes like someone who has much more experience. Keep It Secret is a beautifully crafted story and had me making an emotional connection with both the girls. It's an intense bonding experience, for sure. KIS is a page-turning novel that will have you at the edge of your seat. By the end I was in floods of tears and in desperate need of the next installment in the series, Keep It Safe.

Thank you for the chance to read your amazing book, Olivia, I felt honoured to be reading it. I look forward to the next book, but at the same time, I don't want my world shattered a second time.



Review of ESCAPE DOWN UNDER by S.M Phillips.


Author: S.M Phillips
Publication Date: July 3rd 2014
Source: e-copy provided by author in exchange for an honest review

For Jess Townsend, life is about to get complicated.

Following on from her split with Josh two months ago, Jess has thrown herself into her work full throttle, making sure that the one good thing in her life remains the same.

Suddenly she is called into an important meeting at work. Absolutely petrified that she is about to lose her job, she does the only thing she knows how. Panic on the inside and walk through it with her head held high on the outside. 

Jess soon discovers she is being offered a once in a lifetime opportunity, but will she take it?

After dealing with an ex who can't let go and a broody mysterious Adonis who won't accept no for an answer, maybe the opportunity of an escape has arrived at the perfect time.

What does fate have in store and what obstacles will be thrown her way?

*I Hereby Award This Book 5 Wings!*

This is the first book in the Down Under series and boy does it kick off with a bang. Girls, hold onto your panties, you're about to meet Max Wild! 
Jess doesn't know it yet, but her life is about to get turned upside down and inside out, all thanks to a guy she spills a cup of coffee over. She's on her way to a meeting at work that will see her embark upon the journey of a lifetime, the only down side to which is leaving Jen and George, her best friends, behind. But excitement is in store for Jess from the first time she lays eyes on Mr Wild, her new business associate. She doesn't know it yet, but he is about to rock her world and shake her to the very core. It's like she's been sleepwalking through the last 8 years with Josh and now that their relationship is well and truly over and Max is on the scene, Jess feels awake, rejuvenated and alive for the first time in a long time. She doesn't know it but she is about to be thrown into emotional turbulence and her life will be never be the same. Max Wild changes Jess Townsend forever. But though he wouldn't normally show it, Max's life is about to be changed irrevocably by Jess too. Can the two of them escape their pasts and look forward to a better future, together? Can the ghosts of the past really be outrun or will things come back to haunt them? These are questions you will only find the answers to within the pages of Escape Down Under. 

This story is fast-paced, well timed and absolutely brilliantly written. There was plenty of drama that kept me hooked and sitting on the edge of my seat the whole time. I began this book when I woke up in the morning and found that I just had to finish it before bed so I ended up staying up until 1:30am. I was lucky it was my son's school holidays because it wasn't an early morning for me the next day. I couldn't put the book down. If I was cooking, it was in my hand, my multi-tasking skills were certainly tested by this amazing book, but I didn't mind one bit. 
I fell instantly in love with Max and when I finished the book I was shouting at him - at a fictional character! But we spend so much time with these characters and we immerse ourselves so fully in their world that they don't seem like mere fiction, they feel far more tangible than words on a page. As I got to the end of the book, my heart rose to the back of my throat and the tears fell hot and salty in fat droplets down my cheeks. This is one book not to be missed and I am so glad I had the opportunity to read it. 

Thank you Steph for the copy of Escape Down Under. I am looking forward to meeting you in July at Second City Signing to get my Down Under books signed, but be warned, depending where the other books lead, I may either tackle hug you or I may shout at you or maybe even both! ;)



Have You Heard About Second City Signing?

Have you heard about THE biggest thing to hit Birmingham this July? I'm talking about Second City Signing at St Andrews Football Stadium on July 18th & 19th! Who's going to be there? I hear you ask. Well, let me fill you in...

(click to enlarge)

With Jodi Ellen Malpas headlining this event, tickets are sure to sell like hot cakes. Who hasn't got her This Man trilogy and the One Night trilogy? Who isn't in love with Jesse and Miller? Well if you want to be there to meet her and many others in person, you need to buy your ticket
I am honoured to be amongst the many wonderful authors signing on the 18th. There are many authors who are there for Saturday OR Sunday, but there are also many that will be there for BOTH. Want time to meet them all? Why not make a weekend of it and visit half of the authors on each day?

I will be bringing both of the books in The Sweet Romance Series with me to sign for you, but if you want a copy of Stolen, you will need to bring your own or preorder using this form.


The Sweet Romance Series...




Hope to see you there!! :D 





Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...