Sunday, 27 July 2014

Hello & Welcome To My Blog!


My name is Keren. I am 29 years old and I love to read. I live and breathe books.
I generally like to read YA but can also be found to read Adult Fiction and the occasional erotica. So please beware that not all the reviews on my blog will be suitable for younger eyes!
Whether you are a new visitor or someone I know, thank you for taking the time to visit my blog!
I don't blog everyday as I am usually busy with my nose buried in a book. Instead I tend to come on when I have a review to post. Though sometimes I may post something book related but seemingly a bit random :)

Stay tuned for REVIEWS, INTERVIEWS, GIVEAWAYS, GUEST POSTS & BOOK COVER REVEALS in the near future.

Thank you for coming by and taking a look. Feel free to leave a comment, contact me, follow my blog and follow me on
Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads & Shelfari

I now also have an author blog. I'd love to see you there.

Saturday, 26 July 2014

THE PRISONER by Rachael Wade *Release Day Blitz*








The Prisoner by Rachael Wade
Series: The Replacement #1.5
Genres: Contemporary, New Adult
Release date: July 26th
Buy: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22675155-the-prisoner

The Replacement will be free 1 day only on release day!

***THE PRISONER IS AN ADDITION TO THE REPLACEMENT. IT IS A STAND-ALONE NOVELLA INTENDED TO BE READ AFTER THE REPLACEMENT.

My name is Christian Walker, and Elise Duchamp is my drug of choice.

No matter how hard I try to break the habit, it’s a lost cause. Okay, maybe I haven’t really tried to quit this particular habit. All I can think about is owning her. Making her mine. Can you really blame me? With that sinful body, luscious mouth, and wicked tongue, she’s every man’s dream, and she knows it.

No one is immune to her charm, not even me, a man who has everything—a beautiful wife, an office with a view, and more money than most people can spend in one lifetime. Only I know how to make her toes curl. Only I know her body better than the other men she screws in her free time. None of them can compare to me.

But the joke is on me. I’m the prisoner.

The one who will never compare to him. The one man who makes me see red. His name is stored in her cell phone. It’s the first one she calls out to, the first one she cries for when all hell breaks loose. Ryder Jacobson.

The name makes me cringe.

She loves him, and I love her. In my own way, I always will. But the bad guy doesn’t always belong with the bad girl. Sometimes the bad girl needs a good man to believe in her, to give her that final push toward ultimate transformation. I wish I was that good man. That I could be her happily ever after. I guess that’s the thing about prisoners, though. They’re left alone with their torment, and in the end, they have no one to blame but themselves.



The Replacement by Rachael Wade
Series: The Replacement #1
Publication date: January 27th 2014
Genres: Contemporary, New Adult

Synopsis:

*Contains sexually explicit content and mature subject matter, including language and elements of abuse.*

A gritty New Adult drama about a young woman’s self-destructive quest to find purpose, self-worth, and love in a broken world.

My name is Elise Duchamp. I’m twenty-three years old and I’m known as the town whore.

No, not the kind who exchanges sexual favors for money. The other kind. The kind who gives it all away for free, whenever and however she likes. I am that girl. The one everyone whispers about and the one none of the girls seem to like, because all of their boyfriends either want to sleep with me or already have. Promiscuity is my thing—the kind that slowly, violently turns my insides black, but gives me something I need.

All things considered, I’m not completely reckless. I’m safe, and contrary to popular opinion, I do have a heart. I live in a world of careless choices, and with those choices come careless people. I cannot judge them, because I am one of them. I too bow down to the altar of the self-serving. I am not a good friend. I am not and never could be anyone’s girlfriend. I’m convinced any goodness in me shriveled up and died long ago.

But I am a replacement. That is something I know how to be, and this is a story of the lengths I’d go to in order to keep it that way.

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17608477-the-replacement?ac=1


Purchase:

-Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Replacement-Rachael-Wade/dp/0989630463/ref=la_B005EUR0A4_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1397237610&sr=1-1

-B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-replacement-rachael-wade/1118177458?ean=9780989630467



About the Author



Rachael Wade is the Amazon bestselling author of The Preservation Series, The Resistance Trilogy, and the upcoming sci-fi series, The Keepers Trilogy. When she’s not writing, she’s busy learning French, watching too many movies, and learning how to protect animals and the environment. Visit her at www.RachaelWade.com and www.LightsOnOutreach.com, or come chat with her on Twitter via @RachaelWade


Author Links:

Thursday, 24 July 2014

Welcome To My Stop On The TORTURED Blog Tour!


Title: TORTURED
Author: Kate Givans
Expected Publication Date:
Source: eARC provided for blog tour purposes.

A contemporary romantic drama about loss, healing, and love's ability to reach beyond scars and secrets, no matter how deep or hidden. 

WARNING: This book is intended for 18+ readers ONLY. Potentially triggering content and concepts in books to follow. 

More than a year after the death of his best friend, Josh is still tormented by the past. Everything changes when free-spirited Willow barges into his life. She challenges him, helps him feel something other than the overwhelming pain, sadness, and anger. 

There’s just one problem. 

Underneath that carefree spirit, Willow is elusive and secretive. Josh believes she may be fighting a few demons of her own, but the harder he tries to uncover the truth, the more she pushes him away. 

Can Josh get her to open up before it’s too late? Or will he discover that some secrets are better left untold?

*I Hereby Award This Book 5 Wings!*

I was given the opportunity to read TORTURED and let me tell you, I am so glad I did. It is one of the best books I have read so far in 2014.
Being a debut novel, I was absolutely blown away. Kate Givans writes like an author that has many more books under her belt than just this one. She writes like she has been doing it for years. Her style is easy to fall into and is beautiful in its simplicity.
I have two published books myself, yet after reading Tortured, it has made me aspire to be a better writer. This story was powerful, emotional and felt very real. For me, there is nothing better than feeling like I have stepped into the pages of somebody else’s life.
For me, reading is escaping from reality for a while, being transported to live amongst the pages with the characters. Tortured pulled me in from the very first word and did not let go of me even at the end of the story. I want more and I want it now!
This story sailed a little close to home for me at times—not that I have been in the exact same position as Josh and Willow, but at times, things had me thinking back to my youth. Whilst I enjoy escaping reality in the pages of a story, sometimes, things can take me back to a time that wasn’t so pleasant for me. But that is actually what brought me closer to the characters. The subject matter of this book and the way the characters interact makes it very tangible and real.
I’m sitting here wondering how I can convince you to pick up a copy of Tortured for yourself, but not give too much away. Nobody likes spoilers, right?!
I enjoyed that it was written from Josh’s POV. I haven’t read too many books that are written by a woman and yet are in the male POV. Kate Givans managed to pull it perfectly. If I didn’t know a woman had written it before I read it, I would surely have believed it was written by a man.
Anyway, onto the story itself…
Josh is still in mourning over the loss of his best friend a year ago. He is tormenting himself, believing it was all his fault. The emotional roller coaster that he is on only becomes more of a loop-de-loop ride when Willow comes waltzing into his life.
Willow is carefree, beautiful and free-spirited and when the two collide, something inside Josh is awoken and he starts to come slowly back to life. Willow helps him try to overcome his guilt and the loss of his friend.
Willow is very nomadic, almost gypsy-like in the way that she never stays in one place for very long. But this time, she wants to stay around long enough that she can help Josh.
The two are good together but Willow is keeping secrets and we all know what happens when we hold our cards close to our chest, never letting those that love us in. Things become complicated and messy.
The couple are in very different places in their lives, yet when they are together, that is where they are meant to be.
Josh tries to uncover more about Willow’s past, but the harder he pushes, the more she closes him down. She wants him to open up to her, wants to help him overcome his demons and yet she won’t let him do the same for her. This is very frustrating for Josh because he wants to know the real Willow, to know what she is hiding.
Will Josh get Willow to open up to him? Can Willow help Josh fight his demons to the point where he stops blaming himself? To answer these questions, you need to pick up a copy of Tortured for yourself. Trust me, you won’t be sorry you did.

Thank you Kate for giving me an ARC and allowing me to participate in your blog tour. I am beyond grateful that I was allowed to read this amazing story early. Congratulations on a debut novel to be extremely proud of and I hope Willow's story is out soon so that I can learn more about her. You created two characters that really drew me in and I can't wait for more. 

Thank you to all of you who came by to read my review. Hope to see you again soon!


Monday, 30 June 2014

*COVER REVEAL* Olympus Confidential by Robert B Warren

Dragonfairy Press is pleased to present the cover for Olympus Confidential, book two in the Plato Jones series. Be sure to add this series to your TBR list!


Title: Olympus Confidential
Author: Robert B. Warren
Series: Plato Jones #2
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Publisher: Dragonfairy Press
Expected Publication Date: November 6, 2014
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18481939-olympus-confidential
Synopsis:

When a band of super-powered humans stirs up trouble in New Olympia, Zeus knows just who to call.

Wisecracking private investigator Plato Jones is used to cleaning up the gods' messes. But this might be his most dangerous case yet, placing him deep behind enemy lines, in Tartarus Maximum Security Penitentiary. After infiltrating the enemy's organization, Plato inches closer to the truth. But he learns a hard lesson along the way: to defeat a villain, he might have to become one himself.


About the Author:



A fan of thrillers, fantasy, and science fiction, Robert B. Warren has been writing stories ever since he could hold a pencil. In 2009, he received a Bachelor of Arts degree in English and creative writing from the University of Alabama—Roll Tide! He currently lives in the south.


Tuesday, 3 June 2014

Review of FALLING INTO YOU by LT Kelly


Author: L.T Kelly
Source: e-copy provided by author for review purposes

Marc Romano disappeared without a trace into the darkness. His lover became overwhelmed with grief in her loss. But her grief takes on a much more murderous form than most, for Teagan Lewis is a vampire.
Now her heartache is driving her further from the woman she once was, and she realises she must snap out of her monstrous habits and discover the way back to her old self. But how?
Ending their trip around Europe, Teagan and her friend Alex head back to New York. Teagan has the full intention of carrying out a dangerous plan here; not just physically dangerous, but emotionally as well.
How will she be able to resist the irresistible? And what of the new rival, Ivan Lenin? He threatens her life and the lives of everyone she loves. The only people who can help her are her sworn enemy and an ancient stranger. Will they assist her?
How will Teagan Lewis face the demons of her past and try to find happiness? Will she stay and fight or will she run from the things she must face in order to finally be at peace? Mistakes will be made. People will die. The time has come...

*I Hereby Award This Book 5 Wings!*

I really don't know what to say in this review. The biggest part of me wants to gush about all the things I loved and rant about all the things/characters I hated (I only hate them because L.T Kelly did her job right and made me hate them) but I know that I can't sit here and spoil the book for you. 
If you read my review of book #1, FALLING TO PIECES, you will know that I loved it completely and utterly and didn't think another book could match it. But, this book is just as good, if not better. I fell into the story head first. The ease of L.T Kelly's writing style made it impossible not to get sucked in. The journey was one of emotional torment. FTP was enough of an emotional roller coaster that I wasn't sure if my heart could take another beating - but I took the chance anyway, proving I was right - my heart now feels like someone tore it out of my chest, trampled all over it and then stuffed it's broken shell back in my body, barely beating. 
I love how some books can reel you in and make you feel an emotional bond with the characters. To be honest, I am a glutton for punishment, I like it when the author can make me feel as though I have taken an emotional beating. Well L.T Kelly certainly did that. 
I was already heartbroken at the end of FTP and it only continued in Falling Into You. This book was written with such passion, it was undeniable. It is so easy to see that L.T Kelly loves her characters and she made me love them just as much. 
Going into this story, I didn't believe I could love anyone as much as I loved Marc Romano. Well knock me down with a feather, I loved Geo just as much. I don't like books with love triangles as a rule, and this isn't a triangle per se, but I fell in love with BOTH brothers. Geo is charismatic, magnetic, you can't help but be drawn to him because he is beautiful and could charm a woman's pants off without a single touch.
I can't gush to you too much about the story-line or the characters, I'd be giving too much away, but you really don't want to miss this amazing book. 
You can tell that L.T Kelly wrote this book from her heart. She created some beautiful, astounding characters that have left footprints on my heart. The story flows beautifully and with the sneaky little twists and turns, you will never know what's coming until the wind is knocked out of your sail. 
The good characters are written well, yes, but then so are the bad guys. An authors job is to make you hate certain characters with a passion and oh boy did I hate them. The very fact that I feel this way is a testament to how well this story is written. 
This story is one of love, lust, betrayal, hurt and so much more. The core of it is that Teagan wants it to be possible for her to be with the guy she loves, but love proves that it comes when you least expect it. Love can be profound and beautiful and can come from a source you least expect. When you stop looking for love, it comes looking for you. Sometimes, what you believe to be love is merely lust, your mind confusing the feelings until they blur into something you pin your hopes on being love, but in the end, isn't really. 

I said at the start that this story tugged at my emotions. It made me laugh, it made me cry and it made me so infuriated that I wanted to punch someone. I don't know whether to applaud L.T Kelly for a job well done or maybe want to throttle her for hanging my heart out to dry. She buoyed my emotions up, she battered them back down. She twisted and turned them so that I didn't know what I was feeling. Now that I am done reading, I sat here and cried before writing this review. I listened to the song Falling Into You by Celine Dion, a long time favourite of mine from childhood and I read the last chapter whilst listening. This made it all the more emotionally draining. But at the same time, it made me happy for Teagan. 

Each chapter of FIY has a song under the chapter title and it is my advice that you listen to the song before or during the chapter. If you can listen and read, like I did, it makes the experience of this story even better. 

Thank you Lucy for the chance to review your amazing books. I loved them both dearly. I will never forget Marc and Geo. The are a part of my heart. Every book takes you away on a journey and this was one I never wanted to end. I was so wrapped up in the walls of the world you created and I wanted to live there, permanently. I know now that these are two books I will read over and over again. 

Thank you for comiing by to read my review today. I hope to see you all again soon!




Monday, 26 May 2014

Review of FALLING TO PIECES by L.T Kelly


Author: LT Kelly
Publication Date: June 29th 2013
Source: e-copy provided by the author in exchange for an honest review

When Teagan Lewis moves from rural Montana to the bright lights of London with her maker Thomas, she expects to live as harmoniously as she has for the last one hundred-fifty years.
Teagan didn’t know she had a heart or soul until she met Marc Romano. 
However, it quickly becomes clear that Marc is forbidden fruit. All the signs that he isn’t human were there from the beginning, but she chose to ignore them…to her peril.
Can she simply walk away from this mesmerizing stranger? Or should she risk her immortality to be with the man she has fallen in love with?

*I Hereby Award This Book 5 Wings!*

I honestly don't know where to start with this review, how to get the words from my mind to my fingers to the screen. It would take a whole novel to really tell you why I enjoyed this book so much, but I'll try to keep it short and sweet, and of course, non-spoilery!

I haven't read a book about vampires in so long that I couldn't honestly name you the last one I read. There was a time when vampires were all I read and I devoured so many books about them, but in recent times, it seems I cannot find one that intrigues me enough for me to pick it up. Sure, I still have unread vampire books on my Kindle, but when I come to choosing what to read, they are never at the top of the pile. 
All that changed when I saw Falling To Pieces. I don't know what came over me but I felt this intense desire, this deep need to read this book. And let me tell you, I am extremely glad I did. LT Kelly has this way of drawing you in and not letting you go, it's like she has the ability to cloud your mind so that all you see is her story and her characters become these real, tangible people that are there for you to discover and have fun while you do it. 
Does that sound silly to you? Maybe it does, but all I can tell you is for two days this book consumed me and I wouldn't have had it any other way. The character building was phenomenal. The world building was unquestionably imaginative and unique. The passion with which LT Kelly writes is what really sucks you in though. You can feel her love for and bond with each and every character, both good and bad. Teagan is a wonderful young vampire, living with her maker, Thomas. She does everything she is told without question. That is, until the night they arrive from America. They've moved to England and Teagan needs to feed. Whilst in search of something to snack on, she finds herself lusting after something else, a smell so intoxicating, she begins to feel desire for the first time in her vampire life - one-hundred and fifty years. Teagan cannot fathom the pooling of desire she is feeling ad doesn't know what to do about it - she isn't even sure of exactly what it is she is feeling, so how does she satiate her desire?

Marc is a mystery. He's an enigma. Charismatic, devilishly handsome and of course, smells so intoxicating. He's desirable on all levels. Only, there's something that Teagan can't put her finger on, something 'other' about him. But he's not a vampire, she'd know if he was. 

With how drawn she has become to Marc, will she find out 'what' he is and if she does, will it have an impact on the future of their relationship? Is what she feels for him too good to be true? Could it just be blood-lust?
How will their respective families feel about the unexpected union of the two? What will the fallout be? Can Teagan and Marc survive all that is to come their way?
There are so many questions here, and yet I cannot give you the answers you seek. Instead you must dive into the world of Teagan and Marc, using your heart to guide you. 

Beautifully written, intricately woven with intrigue, desire, love, lust, guilt, hurt and betrayal, Falling To Pieces is an emotion-coaster that once you get off, you are left feeling the desire to go through it all over again just to be near the ones you have come to love. How LT Kelly managed to make me feel such powerful emotions over this, I will never know. I swooned over Marc. I felt stabbed in the back on Teagan's behalf. I wanted so much to hurt Gabriella, not to mention others along the way. My feelings were so up and down. One minute I was happy, the next, I was plummeted so low that I was crying over my Kindle. This is definitely going straight to the top of two piles, one is my 'to-be-read-again' and the other is 'most favourite'.

Thank you Lucy for providing the e-copy of FTP, but more importantly, for crafting a world I didn't realise I would get so lost in and for creating the amazing God-like being that is Marc. *swoons* 

Thank you everyone who came to read my review. If it has inspired you to pick up yoour own copy, do so here: 




Tuesday, 20 May 2014

Happy Release Day To Me!




Nothing Like the First Time
By: Keren Hughes
Limitless Publishing
Genre: New Adult Contemporary Romance
On Sale May 20th, 2014

Synopsis:


Carly Summers and Greyston Sterling were each other's first kiss, first sexual experience, first love, first everything...

They were a match made in Heaven, that was, until Grey took a job as a freelance photographer which took him to the other side of the world. When it came down to a choice between his career and his girl - he chose his career.

Now, 10 years later, Grey's back in town and wants to see if they can rekindle what they had all those years ago. Carly has had relationships but nothing that lasted. No one ever compared to Grey.

But how can they if he's engaged to somebody else?


Book Trailer:

Excerpt:

“So your career comes before me?” I asked, already knowing the answer. “At least look me in the eye and answer me, it’s the least you owe me Grey.”
“I don’t want to have to choose Carls,” he said as he caught my eye. “I just don’t want to miss out on the experience of a lifetime. I get to see amazing things, capture them on film while I experience the different cultures.”
“Just answer the question Grey – you want your career more than you want me.” I started to cry again, I had wanted to get through this without crying but I was fooling myself when I thought that.

“I’m sorry Carls,” he said as he took my hand into his. “I love you, I always will. But this is the opportunity of a lifetime, it may never happen again. I need to do this. I’m not making a conscious choice to put you second but if you weren’t so stubborn, you’d come with me like I asked.”



Add to Goodreads:


Nothing Like The First Time

Buy Links:

NLTFT Playlist:

Early Reviews:


"This book really makes you believe in love forever and happy endings." -Kay

"This book has everything you need in a romance novel: love, heartbreak and even a little suspense." -Vikki Love

About the Author:

Keren lives in the UK and is an avid bookworm; she has been since she read things like Black Beauty, What Katy Did and The Hobbit as a child. Her first real memories of reading are the summers she used to lie on her bed and re-read What Katy Did and What Katy Did Next.

Over the years she has come to realise that she is a bit OCD about books. They have to be in perfect condition without the slightest bit of damage.

She is a book reviewer and has been for the past 18 months or so.

The idea for Stolen came to her one day but she never thought she’d actually write it let alone publish it. If it wasn’t for her author friend Kira Saito, the idea would still be stuck in her head not on paper. But constant love and support from Kira is why you are now able to read Stolen.

Stolen is her first novel but now that she’s written one, she knows she needs to write more. There will be one sequel, called Freed which will be from Bodhi’s POV. This will be set a couple of years on.
Then, the plan is for her to write either NA or Adult Contemporary Romances. She has a big crush on Lady Antebellum’s music at the moment and their songs have inspired a few book ideas.

Keren loves hearing from her readers and if you want to contact her, you can do so at any of the following places:

Twitter: @Keren_Hughes
Facebook (review page): www.facebook.com/GothicAngelBookReviews
Facebook (author page): www.facebook.com/kerentshughes
Author Blog: http://authorkerentshughes.wordpress.com/

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...