Tuesday, 14 April 2015

Hello & Welcome To My Blog!


My name is Keren. I am 31 years old and I love to read. I live and breathe books.
I love to read mainly NA but will read YA too. I also love Adult fiction, Erotica, M/M and F/F. So please beware that not all the reviews on my blog will be suitable for younger eyes!
Whether you are a new visitor or someone I know, thank you for taking the time to visit my blog!
I don't blog everyday as I am usually busy with my nose buried in a book. Instead I tend to come on when I have a review to post. Though sometimes I may post something book related but seemingly a bit random :)

Stay tuned for REVIEWS, INTERVIEWS, GIVEAWAYS, GUEST POSTS & BOOK COVER REVEALS in the near future.

Thank you for coming by and taking a look. Feel free to leave a comment, contact me, follow my blog and follow me on
Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads & Shelfari

I now also have an author blog. I'd love to see you there.



*Release Day Giveaway* READY TO LOVE AGAIN by Keren Hughes


Author: Keren Hughes
Publication Date: April 14th 2015

Synopsis:

For Alyssa Young, life has never been easy. But the hardest thing of all was two years ago when her husband Ethan committed suicide…

Moving town was her only option, she had to get out of the town where she grew up and all the buildings and people reminded her of what she had lost. 

She found a new job at Emerging Butterfly Publishing House and that was where she met editor, Chase Williams.

Although she has no romantic interest in him, he pursues her…

Of course he's good looking. He's also smart, funny, and she loves spending time with him. But Alyssa can't put the past to rest. 

He wants Alyssa to open up to him and fall in love with him the way he fell for her the moment he met her.

Can Chase convince Alyssa that the time is right and she’s ready to love again?

*This is the second novel in The Sweet Romance Series, but can be read as a stand alone*

Happy release day to me. This is the third book I have written, the second in its series. This book is very dear to my heart. I hope you all will love it the way I do. 
I have a giveaway to celebrate the release of RTLA. All you have to do is follow the instructions in the Rafflecopter widget and take note of the Terms and Conditions below. Simple :)

Terms and Conditions:
  • Entrants MUST do all of the entries required from the Rafflecopter widget.
  • Entrants will be contacted via email to notify them  if they win. They MUST reply within ONE week or the prize will be given to somebody else.
  • I will NOT be held personally responsible for loss or damage to the paperbacks and/or swag bag that may happen during shipping. 
  • Winner of the Second City Signing ticket should be a UK resident and able to travel to Birmingham on 18th & 19th July 2015.

Monday, 13 April 2015

Review of KEEP IT SECRET by Olivia Snow


Title: KEEP IT SECRET
Author: Olivia Snow
Publication Date: November 18th 2014
Source: ecopy provided by author in exchange for an honest review

**Mature Content Warning** Recommended for ages 17+ due to language and sexual content.

After the unexpected death of her father, and her mother's emotional abandonment, Ava Veneziano's life is turned upside down...

She turns to drugs, sex, and alcohol as a way to cope with all the destruction in her life, inconsequence, she flunks a grade and loses touch with her favorite cousin Vanessa.

Five years later, Ava and her mother are reunited with the family they'd lost touch with and they end up moving into their home.

Enter Vanessa Saint John...

Vanessa is unawarely beautiful, with an overbearing and controlling mother. She's never been given the opportunity to have a boyfriend or experience life like a normal seventeen year old girl.

However, all of that changes when her cousin Ava moves in, and she finally gets the attention of Gabriel Mason.

The same boy who's also caught the attention of her beloved cousin.

*I Hereby Award This Book 5 Wings!*

I will admit, I have procrastinated over writing this review. I haven't known what to say, or how to feel. This story left me with a book-hangover the size of the country. I still don't really know what to say about it. I don't want to spoil other people's enjoyment of it. I will say this, prepare yourself for heartbreak and have a box or two of tissues at your side as you reach the end.
Ava's father dies, leaving her world in shreds. She has to become the adult and care for her mother, doing all the things for her mother that she should be doing for her daughter - she fails her daughter epically. Ava turns to drugs, alcohol and sex with multiple partners to numb the pain inside. But nothing can ever truly be enough to block out the death of her beloved father.
Then Ava and her mother are invited to live with her uncle and auntie, the Saint John's. That doesn't exactly excite Ava considering they gave up on her and didn't help out at all after the death of her father. The only person she is remotely looking forward to seeing is Vanessa Saint John, her cousin.
Once Rose and Ava move in with the Saint John's, Ava looks to hook up with the first hot guy she finds. And boy is he hot! Gabriel Mason has the looks, the megawatt smile, everything Ava needs to take her mind off her current predicament. She did not want to move in with the Saint John's so this distraction will do just nicely. But there's more to it than meets the eye. It seems that cousin Vanessa has had her eye on a boy all summer. I bet you can't guess who?!

This story really tugged at my heartstrings. It's great how it's told from dual POV's, both Ava and cousin Van. You really get a feel for both girls. One so broken and one who looks to have everything, but looks can be deceptive. Is anything really as it seems? One thing is for sure, if you scratch the surface, you will find that not all that glitters is gold. Ava and Van are about to have their hearts shattered when their worlds collide.

For only being her debut novel, Olivia Snow writes like someone who has much more experience. Keep It Secret is a beautifully crafted story and had me making an emotional connection with both the girls. It's an intense bonding experience, for sure. KIS is a page-turning novel that will have you at the edge of your seat. By the end I was in floods of tears and in desperate need of the next installment in the series, Keep It Safe.

Thank you for the chance to read your amazing book, Olivia, I felt honoured to be reading it. I look forward to the next book, but at the same time, I don't want my world shattered a second time.



Review of ESCAPE DOWN UNDER by S.M Phillips.


Author: S.M Phillips
Publication Date: July 3rd 2014
Source: e-copy provided by author in exchange for an honest review

For Jess Townsend, life is about to get complicated.

Following on from her split with Josh two months ago, Jess has thrown herself into her work full throttle, making sure that the one good thing in her life remains the same.

Suddenly she is called into an important meeting at work. Absolutely petrified that she is about to lose her job, she does the only thing she knows how. Panic on the inside and walk through it with her head held high on the outside. 

Jess soon discovers she is being offered a once in a lifetime opportunity, but will she take it?

After dealing with an ex who can't let go and a broody mysterious Adonis who won't accept no for an answer, maybe the opportunity of an escape has arrived at the perfect time.

What does fate have in store and what obstacles will be thrown her way?

*I Hereby Award This Book 5 Wings!*

This is the first book in the Down Under series and boy does it kick off with a bang. Girls, hold onto your panties, you're about to meet Max Wild! 
Jess doesn't know it yet, but her life is about to get turned upside down and inside out, all thanks to a guy she spills a cup of coffee over. She's on her way to a meeting at work that will see her embark upon the journey of a lifetime, the only down side to which is leaving Jen and George, her best friends, behind. But excitement is in store for Jess from the first time she lays eyes on Mr Wild, her new business associate. She doesn't know it yet, but he is about to rock her world and shake her to the very core. It's like she's been sleepwalking through the last 8 years with Josh and now that their relationship is well and truly over and Max is on the scene, Jess feels awake, rejuvenated and alive for the first time in a long time. She doesn't know it but she is about to be thrown into emotional turbulence and her life will be never be the same. Max Wild changes Jess Townsend forever. But though he wouldn't normally show it, Max's life is about to be changed irrevocably by Jess too. Can the two of them escape their pasts and look forward to a better future, together? Can the ghosts of the past really be outrun or will things come back to haunt them? These are questions you will only find the answers to within the pages of Escape Down Under. 

This story is fast-paced, well timed and absolutely brilliantly written. There was plenty of drama that kept me hooked and sitting on the edge of my seat the whole time. I began this book when I woke up in the morning and found that I just had to finish it before bed so I ended up staying up until 1:30am. I was lucky it was my son's school holidays because it wasn't an early morning for me the next day. I couldn't put the book down. If I was cooking, it was in my hand, my multi-tasking skills were certainly tested by this amazing book, but I didn't mind one bit. 
I fell instantly in love with Max and when I finished the book I was shouting at him - at a fictional character! But we spend so much time with these characters and we immerse ourselves so fully in their world that they don't seem like mere fiction, they feel far more tangible than words on a page. As I got to the end of the book, my heart rose to the back of my throat and the tears fell hot and salty in fat droplets down my cheeks. This is one book not to be missed and I am so glad I had the opportunity to read it. 

Thank you Steph for the copy of Escape Down Under. I am looking forward to meeting you in July at Second City Signing to get my Down Under books signed, but be warned, depending where the other books lead, I may either tackle hug you or I may shout at you or maybe even both! ;)



Have You Heard About Second City Signing?

Have you heard about THE biggest thing to hit Birmingham this July? I'm talking about Second City Signing at St Andrews Football Stadium on July 18th & 19th! Who's going to be there? I hear you ask. Well, let me fill you in...

(click to enlarge)

With Jodi Ellen Malpas headlining this event, tickets are sure to sell like hot cakes. Who hasn't got her This Man trilogy and the One Night trilogy? Who isn't in love with Jesse and Miller? Well if you want to be there to meet her and many others in person, you need to buy your ticket
I am honoured to be amongst the many wonderful authors signing on the 18th. There are many authors who are there for Saturday OR Sunday, but there are also many that will be there for BOTH. Want time to meet them all? Why not make a weekend of it and visit half of the authors on each day?

I will be bringing both of the books in The Sweet Romance Series with me to sign for you, but if you want a copy of Stolen, you will need to bring your own or preorder using this form.


The Sweet Romance Series...




Hope to see you there!! :D 





Sunday, 15 March 2015

*Cover Reveal* CHASE THE KNIGHT by Nicola C. Priest

Cover Reveal for

Chase The Knight

By Nicola C. Priest

Chase The Knight Ecover (1)
Title: Chase The Knight
Author: Nicola C. Priest
Genre: Fiction/Romance
Publication: May 2015
Cover Designer: Margreet Asselbergs
Chase The Knight

~~Summary~~

A girl’s 21st birthday is meant to be a time in her life that she never forgets. At least, that’s what Abigail Knight thought, until her father gives her some bad news; a business deal has gone horribly wrong and now he has people out to get him. Worried that someone will try and get to him through his daughter, Mr Knight hires protection in the form of undercover cop, Alexander Chase. Not surprisingly, Abigail is dead set against the idea, believing that the looming presence of Officer Chase will ruin her party. Taking on board his daughter’s worries, her father alters the plan. In order for Alex to fit in, he will no longer be just her protection; he will be her boyfriend. Deciding that the new plan will be the lesser of two evils, Abigail reluctantly agrees, leaving her and Alexander just two days to get to know one another. Two days in which to learn enough about each other to fool even her best friend into believing they are a devoted couple. Abi goes into the plan thinking it’s just a way to appease her father. Alex believes it to be just another undercover assignment, but from the moment they meet, the attraction between them in undeniable. Both Abi and Alex try their hardest to remain platonic, knowing that once the party is over, they will go their separate ways, but as the sparks continue to fly, they both find it harder to maintain the charade. Alex knows that getting involved with Abi could spell the end of his career, but the more time he spends with her, the more he wants her. Can two people bought together by a charade really make something real?   Chase the Knight Teaser  

~~About The Author~~

IMG_0256 Hey everyone!!!! I'm Nicola, known to most people as Nicky. I live with my husband of almost six years and my two cats, Ebony and Georgie, near Birmingham, in the West Midlands. I have loved to write ever since I was at school. My Creative Writing classes were the only ones that held my attention and I always had a story of some kind floating around in my head. This continued throughout my college years when I would write short stories based on anything and everything. When I joined the ranks of the employed in 1997, my writing was put on the backburner, but my passion for the art remained. It wasn't until 2007, when I discovered fanfiction, that I started to write again, mixing my love of writing with my love of TV and movies. I went on to write almost fifty pieces of fanfiction, some of which I am currently adapting to see if they can be released as novels in the future. In February 2013, something happened that changed my life forever and finally convinced me to do something about all the stories that I had in my head. Losing my father to Cancer affected me more than I think even I wanted to admit. He always encouraged me to do what makes me happy and that is what writing does. I decided that I would finally stop over thinking things and went for it. The Heartland Series was born with the first of five novellas going on sale in October of the same year. The five novellas came together to form one full length novel, Heart and Soul, which is the first in the Heartland Trilogy featuring Samantha and Alistair. The second book in the series, Mind & Soul is due out later this year. As well as the Heartland books, I also have two works in progress, one called Somewhere Love Remains and a second called Chase the Knight. Both books are unrelated to Heartland and will be standalone. Both of these books will be out and available for purchase before Second City Signing in July. On a more personal level, whilst writing is my passion, I still maintain a full-time position within one of the top 4 banks in the UK. I enjoy reading as well as writing and own an embarrassing number of paperback and hardbacks as well as a full Kindle Paperwhite. I enjoy running and going to the gym and recently took part in and completed the Birmingham Great Run, a Half Marathon around the streets of Birmingham. I am also a part-time event planner and have arranged numerous events over the last few years ranging from parties to full blown fan conventions. At each event, I raise as much money as possible for MacMillan Cancer, who were a fantastic support to me and my family when my father was first diagnosed and who continue to support us two after his passing.  

~~Connect With The Author~~

 
This has been a cover reveal by
FB Banner

Friday, 20 February 2015

*Release Day Blitz* THE ONE THAT GOT AWAY by M.B Feeney!

IMG_2394
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Content Warning: Sexual situations and bad language.
Cover designer: Grafix Momma ~ Editor: Sydney Kalnay & R. E. Hargrave
23153975
IMG_2397
There’s something about that one person we date in our teens but never become intimate with. Why does a sexless relationship render us unable to stop carrying that person, the what if, with us into our adult life?
For Heidi Johnson, Shane Hughes is her “one that got away.” Through the years, he has stayed in the back of her mind while she became an adult, a mother, and her own person. Meanwhile, Shane has lived a life of regret that he let Heidi go for the wrong reasons: fear and a misguided sense of not wanting to hurt either of them. When they reconnect online, the memories they've tried to suppress over the years return, reigniting the feelings never explored ‘back in the day.’ Will a school reunion in their home town of London, surrounded by old school friends, help the pair address the questions the years apart left unanswered? Or will they still be left with wanting more?
IMG_2399
For almost half an hour I sat at an abandoned table by the wall, smoking my cigarettes one after the other. Apart from a few voices filtering out through the open doors, I sat in complete silence. Not one other person came out, but I could hear voices. It seemed most of the smokers were outside the front, leaving me to feel like I was the only smoker in the building.
Leaning back against the wall, I let the soft breeze play over my flushed face and was savouring a bit of peace and quiet when I looked at my watch and jumped. I hadn’t realised that it was so late—time certainly does fly when you’re having fun. Which I had been having, before the need to escape into the dark overtook me. Crushing out my cigarette in the huge metal ashtray, I stood to go back inside. I stalled when I caught sight of Shane making his way through the crowded downstairs room of the pub, walking in the direction of the beer garden. Towards me. Crumpling back down onto the seat, I lit another cigarette, my hand shaking from nerves, and . . . something else. It was okay sitting close to him in a crowded room surrounded by people, but the garden was deserted and dark. He spotted me pretty quick thanks to the glowing orange tip of my lit cigarette.
“Nice spot.” He pointed to the overhanging branches of ivy that partially hid the table. Without speaking further, he sat down next to me and took my face between his warm, strong hands. All I could see were his beautiful eyes locking on me—right before his lips crashed into mine.
Add-to-Goodreads

Goodreads

Amazon Author Page

IMG_2396
6578767M. B. Feeney is an army brat who finally settled down in Birmingham, UK with her other half, two kids and a dog. Currently at university studying for her BA (Hons) in primary teaching, she procrastinates on her assignments by listening to music of all genres and trying to get ‘just one more paragraph’ written on whichever WIP is open. She is also a serious doodler and chocoholic. Writing has been her one true love ever since she could spell, and publishing is the final culmination of her hard work and ambition.
Her publishing career began with two novellas, and she currently has multiple projects under way whilst Honour, a compilation of her own military based shorts, was released in November 2013. Always having something on the go can often lead to block which eventually gets dissolved by good music and an even better book. Her main reason for writing is to not only give her readers enjoyment, but also to create a story and characters that stay with readers long after the book is finished, and possibly make someone stop and think “what if...”

Join M. B. Feeney's Street Team

10565130_742844889105333_5649546902760197226_n
click on picture to express interest
IMG_2398

IMG_2395
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...