Monday, 24 July 2017

Hello & Welcome To My Blog!


Hello and welcome. We are two girls who love to read. Keren and Sophie. 
We love to read NA, YA, Adult fiction, Erotica, M/M and F/F. So please beware that not all the reviews on our blog will be suitable for younger eyes!
Whether you are a new visitor or someone we know, thank you for taking the time to visit our blog!
We don't blog everyday as we are usually busy with our noses buried in a book. Instead we tend to come on when we have a review to post, a giveaway, an author interview or something else book related. :)

Stay tuned for REVIEWS, INTERVIEWS, GIVEAWAYS, GUEST POSTS & BOOK COVER REVEALS in the near future.

Thank you for coming by and taking a look. Feel free to leave a comment, contact us and follow our blog.

Keren also has an author blog. She'd love to see you there!



and 


Review - The Forbidden by Jodi Ellen Malpas




Title: THE FORBIDDEN
Author: Jodi Ellen Malpas
Release Date: August 8th 2017
Source: eARC provided by Net Galley in exchange for an honest review

Synopsis:

Annie has never experienced the 'spark' with a guy-that instant chemistry that renders you weak in the knees. That is, until a night out brings her face to face with the dangerously sexy and mysterious Jack. It's not just a spark that ignites between them. It's an explosion. Jack promises to consume Annie, and he fully delivers on that promise.

Overwhelmed by the intensity of their one night together, Annie slips out of their hotel room. She is certain that a man who's had such a powerful impact on her must be dangerous. She has no idea that he belongs to another. That he's forbidden.
 

* I Hereby Award This Book A 5 Wing Rating!!*

Review:

I'm torn in two. Part of me is rocking in the corner pulling my hair out and the other is... well, I don't really know what she's doing to be honest. 

WARNING: long review ahead! 

How to write a review for this book without blurting out spoilers... that's a hard one. I want so much to talk about all the feelings this book brought out in me and why. This story drove me crazy in good ways and bad. It was an emotional roller coaster, that's for sure. 
Going into this story, I knew the topic was "taboo" - I mean, come on, the title alone tells you that. I knew it was a subject matter I don't usually like to read about. The fact is, I only decided to give it a try because of the author. So many people love JEM, me included. 
As it turns out, I ended up glad I had given it a chance. I was tangled up in a myriad of emotions. It brought old feelings to the surface that I would have rather left forgotten. See, I'm admitting right here and now, I have been in Annie's shoes. I guess people will want to throw stones at me for that, so throw stones if you must, just make sure you don't live in a glass house. I won't let trolls get me down for writing a review for this book or for saying I've been Annie. People need something better to do with their time than to bash JEM for writing this story or me for loving it. 

I know that JEM is likely to receive some backlash once this story releases, but I am saying here and now, I will not be jumping on that particular bandwagon. I believe that she is courageous for writing something that the book community may rise up against. She had faith in her characters, in her story and I applaud her for that bravery. 

I always try to stay away from drama and this is no different. I won't be caught up in a sh!t storm. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, so please respect that my opinion is my own and nothing anyone says can change that. 

But I digress, I came here to write my review and though the above is a part of it, in a way, I also want to express why I loved this book. While trying not to spoil it for you, of course. But you can always look away now before I get into it... It's your last chance to back out...! 

Annie is an amazing, strong, independent woman. She has a career, a new home, good friends, a good life. All that's missing is a man. But she's not looking for one. She's dated plenty, but she's never felt the butterflies in her stomach, the electrical current from that one touch. Let's face it, we all want a man we have a strong chemistry with but Annie seems lacking in that department. 
That is, until one night when she meets an intriguing stranger in a bar. She's out with friends and doesn't want to 'hook up' but the chemistry she feels with this stranger is something she is beguiled by. The stranger, Jack, feels the same. There's something about Annie that intrigues him. There's an undeniable lust that's all-consuming... 
But unbeknownst to Annie, the stranger is the fruit of the forbidden tree. She 'should' stay away. She 'should' listen to her head and not follow her heart. And she does. For as long as she can. 
Annie knows that she needs to fight this attraction, she needs to just walk away. But is that really possible?

I am. a woman led by my heart. Always have been and always will be. I made the same choice as Annie - as in, there is no real 'choice' because you don't consciously decide to take that step. That choice is made for you by you heart. You can't help who you fall in love with. I've fallen in love with someone forbidden in my past, but I won't make apologies for that because at the end of the day, you really cannot help who you fall for. Love comes in all shapes, sizes and forms. Does forbidden always mean wrong? I know people will disagree with me here and some will say "He was forbidden, you knew he was off limits and you did it anyway." Well yes, I did know (actually, I found out eventually, not right at the start), and yes, I did do it anyway. I could make excuses and say that I was young and naive etc, etc. But I'm not the only one who did something, he did too. He was just as much to blame as me, but women tend to get more flack for it. 

The gamut of emotions Annie goes through is something I am sympathetic to. It's so easy to put yourself in her shoes and feel her every feeling, experience her every thought. Well, it was for me anyway. She doesn't go in with her eyes shut. She knows what she's letting herself in for and yet isn't fully aware of the consequences of her actions. You can't be 100% sure what will happen, it's impossible. You are responsible for your actions but not other people's reactions. 

Jack exudes sensuality. He's charismatic, handsome - though that's not a descriptive enough word - and he's got a softer side, something that can only be explained when you read it for yourself. There's so much going on in his life that you don't realise. People will be quick to judge before reading, but as Jack's story unfolded, it endeared him to me. 

The Forbidden is beautifully written. Jodi has a way of making you feel every emotion and experience everything as if it is happening to you. Her way with words is something unique. She's a wordsmith with a difference. She sucks you in and doesn't let you back out. I was left begging for more at the end of the book and I am hoping there is more to find out about Annie and Jack in the future. Or maybe a story about Micky or Lizzie (with Annie and Jack still present). 

There's so much I wish I could say, but I fear I've already let my mouth run away with me too much. I'll say one more thing; I implore you to give this book a chance! (I wasn't sorry that I did).

Thank you for taking the time to read my review! 😃




Monday, 19 September 2016

*Release Blitz* EPIC LOVE by Trudy Stiles!


Title: Epic Love
Series: Epic Fail #3
Author: Trudy Stiles
Release Date: Sept 19, 2016
HEATH STRICKLAND, the son of a prominent district attorney, lived his life surrounded by violence and crime. He was an unwilling witness to the corrupt lives his father swore to prosecute and keep behind bars. His escape was his music, which eventually led him to replace the iconic singer of the world famous band, Epic Fail.

NOELLE DURAND lived in luxury, growing up on a sprawling estate, with everything she could ever want or need. Her life, to everyone else, seemed perfect. Perfect house. Perfect things. Perfect family. But nothing at all was perfect. She lived in hell. A hell that nobody on the outside could see.

As a neighbor and childhood friend, Heath would have done anything for Noelle. He would have given up the world to protect her and keep her safe. Their friendship grew into something that neither of them expected. But then she suddenly disappeared, vanishing from his life as if she never existed. He never stopped hoping that one day she would resurface, alive and well. But as time went by, and her family gave up hope, he surrendered his heart to his lost love.

Twelve years later, one phone call changes everything.

EPIC LOVE is the third book in the EPIC FAIL series and can be read as a STANDALONE novel.

This series is a spinoff from the FOREVER FAMILY series.
  
“I’m sorry, Noelle. I’m really sorry.” I don’t know what I’m apologizing for. The fact that I don’t believe her weak lie or because I kissed her. No. I’m not sorry for either.
“It’s okay. Really. Thanks for caring. And thank you for my birthday gift.” She pauses and brushes her pinkie finger against mine. “You made my birthday really special, and I’ll never forget it.”
Without thinking, I loop my pinkie finger around hers, linking them together. Linking us together. We walk to her window like this and I break our connection reluctantly, bringing my hand up to her bruised cheek. “Please be careful,” I beg, and I’m not sure what I’m even begging her to be careful of. I’m just so worried about her.
“I will,” she whispers. “Catch a couple fireflies on the way home.”
“I’d catch a million for you.” Her eyes light up, a smile on her lips. I want to kiss her again. So bad. But all I do is stare into her eyes and back away. I push the window open as quietly as I can and slide out onto the grass.
“Happy Birthday, Noelle.”
She smiles as we both slide the window gently along the track, closing it.
She leaves her hand pressed against the window and I immediately do the same, covering hers, only the glass pane separating us.
Her smile is weak and full of pain.
A pain that I would take away from her in an instant if I could.
Trudy Stiles is a New Adult Romance author, mom to two beautiful children, and married to the love of her life. She’s the author of the bestselling Forever Family series including “Dear Emily,” “Dear Tabitha,” and “Dear Juliet.” “Epic Sins” is the first book in the Epic Fail series and will continue with at least three more standalone novels. “Epic Lies” is scheduled to release in the Spring of 2016 with “Epic Love” and “Epic Holiday” to follow in the Fall and Winter of 2016. She plans to write many more stories about some of the characters you’ve already met, and maybe a few new ones.
Trudy is a music junkie and you’ll know that she’s writing when you see her plugged into her laptop with her earbuds in. Her playlist is unique and is a must for her writing sprints.
When she’s not writing, she’s carting her children to their various activities while avoiding any kind of laundry or housework. She also loves to run along the boardwalk of the beautiful New Jersey shore.
She celebrates Wine Wednesday almost every day.
   



I Hereby Award This Book 5 Wings!



My Review: 


So many emotions, so many words, so many feelings ready to overflow. I'm sat here crying and hell the tears are stinging my eyes. This book has put me through the wringer. There have been many ups and downs, but to see how it all turned out, the bumpy journey was worth it. 
Noelle and Heath grew up as next door neighbours. They were the best of friends before becoming so much more. Whilst it seems that their life was blessed - and in so many ways, it was - it was also full of hardship, loss, betrayal and so much more besides. 
I loved how the characters developed, how they grew together from children, to teenagers and how they experienced so much together. 
The fact that this story is told in a mixture of past and present, as well as dual POV, it lets you live each moment as if you were really there. 
Trudy Stiles is one of the most amazing authors I have ever encountered, putting so much heart and soul behind every word on every page. The stories she crafts are full of so much love, not just between the characters but Trudy's love. You can tell that although she puts her characters through a lot - one HELL of a lot - she always tries to give them the best ending that she can. 

This story broke my heart, but then it mended it again. A second chance romance that permanently leaves its mark in your memory and your heart. 
There are so many things I could say here, but I don't want to spoil it for others. The truth is, this story needs to be experienced first-hand to really understand the heart of it. 
It can be read as a stand alone, but honestly, you'll be missing out if you don't read the previous two books, EPIC SINS and EPIC LIES. The band Epic Fail have a lot of history that you really should share in. If you haven't read them, then maybe this is the time to do so. 
As each of the stories unfold, there are so many bumps in the road to happiness. But that's something that I really wouldn't have any other way. If asked to choose a favourite of the three books, then I would say that EPIC LOVE is where I lost my heart, but then had it returned. There were a few times I flinched and on occasion I felt sick, but I wouldn't want to change a thing. 
It is my opinion that books like this, that make you really feel, they are the best kind. Not only did I establish an emotional connection with the characters, I felt as though I was right there with them. This story sucked me all the way in and held me hostage until the final word. 
I cried, I laughed, I loved, I got a little (okay a LOT) heartbroken, but it was all worth every second I gave to reading Noelle and Heath's story.





Monday, 8 August 2016

Jess Haines - Smoke and Mirrors - Virtual Book Tour

  I award this Mind Blowing Book - 4 Angel Wings

Young Adult / New Adult Fantasy
Date Published: May 1, 2016


A girl who uses her illusions to fool the world into thinking she's just like all the other magi.

A dragon who sees through her lies.

Together they just might survive a world that wants to control or destroy them both.

Kimberly may wield ultimate cosmic power, but even a mage has to pay the rent. No one will hire her for her magic talents until she's got the credentials, so she’s stuck in a crappy rent controlled apartment with her mother, yearning for treats she can't afford at her part time job in a café, counting down the days until she graduates the secret Blackhollow Academy school for magi. Only then will she have the certificate she needs to land her dream job in a coven.
The problem? She needs a familiar to graduate.
As an illusionist, she doesn't have the ability to summon or create a familiar of her own. Her only option is to convince a supernatural creature to let her bind it instead. Since having a powerful Other at her beck and call would guarantee her a place in a coven after she graduates—and legendary treasure hoards are an added bonus—she thinks binding a dragon as her familiar will solve all her problems...

Because sometimes a girl needs a dragon, not a knight.

 

My Review -


The story is about a 21 year old girl called Kimberley that is trying to master her exams but is struggling due to not having enough power to pass her final exams in classes being taken. To gain success the young girl is seeking out a Dragon, to master the power to finish school and be accepted in the outside world allowing her to be accepted into a coven. The story as a whole is engaging and keeps you hooked throughout. The adventures that are explored are described in good detail helping you to visualise the story  making you feel part of the atmosphere surrounding the story. The Writer explores a range of real life occurrences such as bullying, that can happen within a learning environment helping to link the paranormal world of vampires,werewolf's, Magi and Dragons to the reality of human life.
 Throughout the story I was drawn in to each chapter that featured Cormac attaching myself to the edginess of his personality and the pure interest he had for Kimberley kept me hooked, enticing me to read on, to become part of the characters world  meaning that the journey surrounding them not only effected them but how myself as a reader was also affected. Throughout the story a paranormal romance is brewing making this book ideal for anyone that enjoys a light romance throughout an  adventure filled book with down to earth characters that have relatable characteristics making the book easy and enjoyable to read.  
 If you want to let your mind run wild with vivid imagination this is the book to pick up and read next!
Author-

I'm a displaced New Yorker with a penchant for the silly, the obscure, and the fantastical. These days, you can find me in the Tampa area. I'm currently working on the H&W Investigations urban fantasy series and the Blackhollow Academy young adult/new adult contemporary fantasy series. Find out more about my books, drop me a line, or join my mailing list at www.jesshaines.com!

Contact Information


Purchase Links
Amazon Everywhere Else: http://hyperurl.co/d7dv3u 

Jess Haines - Smoke and Mirrors - Virtual Book Tour

  I award this Mind Blowing Book - 4 Angel Wings

Young Adult / New Adult Fantasy
Date Published: May 1, 2016


A girl who uses her illusions to fool the world into thinking she's just like all the other magi.

A dragon who sees through her lies.

Together they just might survive a world that wants to control or destroy them both.

Kimberly may wield ultimate cosmic power, but even a mage has to pay the rent. No one will hire her for her magic talents until she's got the credentials, so she’s stuck in a crappy rent controlled apartment with her mother, yearning for treats she can't afford at her part time job in a café, counting down the days until she graduates the secret Blackhollow Academy school for magi. Only then will she have the certificate she needs to land her dream job in a coven.
The problem? She needs a familiar to graduate.
As an illusionist, she doesn't have the ability to summon or create a familiar of her own. Her only option is to convince a supernatural creature to let her bind it instead. Since having a powerful Other at her beck and call would guarantee her a place in a coven after she graduates—and legendary treasure hoards are an added bonus—she thinks binding a dragon as her familiar will solve all her problems...

Because sometimes a girl needs a dragon, not a knight.

 

My Review -


The story is about a 21 year old girl called Kimberley that is trying to master her exams but is struggling due to not having enough power to pass her final exams in classes being taken. To gain success the young girl is seeking out a Dragon, to master the power to finish school and be accepted in the outside world allowing her to be accepted into a coven. The story as a whole is engaging and keeps you hooked throughout. The adventures that are explored are described in good detail helping you to visualise the story  making you feel part of the atmosphere surrounding the story. The Writer explores a range of real life occurrences such as bullying, that can happen within a learning environment helping to link the paranormal world of vampires,werewolf's, Magi and Dragons to the reality of human life.
 Throughout the story I was drawn in to each chapter that featured Cormac attaching myself to the edginess of his personality and the pure interest he had for Kimberley kept me hooked, enticing me to read on, to become part of the characters world  meaning that the journey surrounding them not only effected them but how myself as a reader was also affected. Throughout the story a paranormal romance is brewing making this book ideal for anyone that enjoys a light romance throughout an  adventure filled book with down to earth characters that have relatable characteristics making the book easy and enjoyable to read.  
 If you want to let your mind run wild with vivid imagination this is the book to pick up and read next!
Author-

I'm a displaced New Yorker with a penchant for the silly, the obscure, and the fantastical. These days, you can find me in the Tampa area. I'm currently working on the H&W Investigations urban fantasy series and the Blackhollow Academy young adult/new adult contemporary fantasy series. Find out more about my books, drop me a line, or join my mailing list at www.jesshaines.com!

Contact Information


Purchase Links
Amazon Everywhere Else: http://hyperurl.co/d7dv3u 

Tuesday, 5 July 2016

*Coming Soon* My Newest Release...More.

Coming July 19th 2016 from @LimitlessBooks… More by @Keren_Hughes

#ComingSoon #NewRelease #NewAdult #Contemporary #Romance




Synopsis:

Drake Anderson is all the man Annalise Duncan ever wanted…

Annalise has it all. The perfect husband. The perfect son. The perfect life. After the father of her son Ayden abandoned her to be a single parent, she finally felt like she hit the romance jackpot. Her boss, Drake Anderson, turned out to be more than just a friend. He’s the love of her life, and an amazing stepfather to her son.

But the picture perfect marriage is merely an illusion…

After seven wonderful years, Drake leaves. He doesn’t give her a reason, or even the courtesy of a return phone call. Six months go by without even a single acknowledgement. Annalise is devastated. Her heart and soul belonged to Drake, and he was the only father Ayden ever knew. She’d dedicated her life to him and the family they built together, and she isn’t willing to let that dream go easily.

When Annalise spots Drake out at a café with a woman, her heart shatters all over again. But it’s not what Annalise thinks. He isn’t cheating on her. There are things about leaving that Drake just can’t or won’t explain. Some things should remain a secret. 

He wants his old life back, but Annalise won’t accept anything but the truth…

Drake has to find a way to convince his wife, his Cariad, to take him back, but it may mean facing a truth he wanted to keep hidden. He must prove to Annalise that despite his past, he wants her…

More.
Add to your Goodreads TBR here: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/29093984-more

  




 Don’t Miss Out…

Keren is hosting a Release Day Giveaway on July 19th over on her author page.

1 lucky winner will receive:
·         1 signed paperback of More <can also include autograph of cover model>
·         1 *exclusive* swag pack <including a miniature bottle of JD & shot glass>
·         A cocktail shaker + accessories
·         A cocktail recipe book
·         1 signed photo of model Amanda Renee <the stunner featured on the cover> with handmade frame

And for the Runners Up…
There will be eARCs of More sent direct to your Kindle
Also, there will be swag aplenty!

To be entered into the draw, go to https://www.facebook.com/kerentshughes and see the pinned post. There you will find the T’s & C’s of entry. The closing date to enter by is August 2nd 2016. <giving you TWO weeks to get your entries in>



Wednesday, 29 June 2016


HJ Lawson - Infinite Time - Virtual Book Tour

 


Young Adult Sci-Fi

Date Published: June 1, 2016


Save the girl. 
Save the day. 
Save yourself. 

The mission sounds easy enough, but it is anything but easy for Parker Jenkins. Yesterday, ordinary, poverty-stricken Parker was an ordinary high school kid, getting bullied relentlessly and trying to get by. Today, he's a time traveler with gifted powers expected to carry out the extraordinary. Teaming up with another time traveler, Scarlet, they must save an innocent girl on the run before the villains kill them all. If they don't, their present-day selves will die. But can the ordinary perform the extraordinary?

  

 HJLawson is an English author who currently resides in New York. When she's not writing, she spends her watching movies and hanging out with her family. She is the author of the following young adult books: The War Kids Series and The Sanction Series.




Contact Information
Twitter: @hjlawson1

Check out HJ Lawson's novel Anonymous on Kindle Scout:

Purchase Links

 

  a Rafflecopter giveaway
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...