Sunday, 20 April 2014

Hello & Welcome To My Blog!


My name is Keren. I am 29 years old and I love to read. I live and breathe books.
I generally like to read YA but can also be found to read Adult Fiction and the occasional erotica. So please beware that not all the reviews on my blog will be suitable for younger eyes!
Whether you are a new visitor or someone I know, thank you for taking the time to visit my blog!
I don't blog everyday as I am usually busy with my nose buried in a book. Instead I tend to come on when I have a review to post. Though sometimes I may post something book related but seemingly a bit random :)

Stay tuned for REVIEWS, INTERVIEWS, GIVEAWAYS, GUEST POSTS & BOOK COVER REVEALS in the near future.

Thank you for coming by and taking a look. Feel free to leave a comment, contact me, follow my blog and follow me on
Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads & Shelfari

I now also have an author blog. I'd love to see you there.

Review of HIS HOMETOWN GIRL by Karen Rock (and excerpts)...



Author: Karen Rock
Publication Date: March 1st 2014
Source: e-copy provided by Lola's Blog Tours for review purposes

He'd always managed to best her… 

Jodi Chapman will do whatever it takes to get top care for her autistic son. If that means going home and convincing local farmers to sell their land, so be it. Even if her biggest opponent, childhood rival Daniel Gleason, is equally determined to convince farmers to buy into his co-op plan. And he's not playing fair. 

Facing off against Daniel is the last thing Jodi wants. The attraction that's always fueled their competitiveness is as strong as ever and just as distracting. But with both their futures on the line, and years of distrust between them, how can they ever be on the same side?

*I Hereby Award This Book 5 Wings!*

This book was totally amazing. I don't really know where to start or what to tell you without completely gushing and ruining your own enjoyment of this story. 
I was asked if I wanted to read and review His Hometown Girl and of course, I couldn't refuse. I adore Karen Rock and have read the Camp Boyfriend series she wrote with her sister, Joanne. I wanted to read more of Karen's writing and was desperate to get my hands on this book in particular. 
I thought I was prepared for this story, boy was I wrong. I fell into this particular journey believing that I would adore the characters, but I didn't know jut how much it would affect me. I fell completely in love with Daniel Gleason, but it wasn't just him that I fell for. I have no real words to accurately describe what this book meant to me. It's a love story of a different kind. It's a powerful, emotional story of the love a mother has for her son and the lengths she will go to in order to give him the life he deserves - she will not only protect him but she will do the things she vowed not to do because it means giving her son the best life she can. 
This story is about learning to open your eyes to the bigger picture and not just solely focus on one small part of it.
Tyler is autistic and so everything is just that much harder for single mom, Jodi. She wants to give him the best education she can, but with the fees for the private school being so high, Jodi has to really strive to achieve the promotion she is in line for. Midland have told Jodi that if she can go back to her hometown and acquire a certain amount of acreage from local farmers, then they will give her a bonus and a promotion. To Jodi, this is what she needs in order to give Tyler the best life possible. She doesn't really think of herself at all. She is, in fact, one of the most selfless characters I have come across. 
Daniel is her ex-boyfriend and also her biggest childhood rival, the competition between these two was always fierce. Daniel wants the local farmers to join his co-op in order to preserve their land, their farms, their families heritage but Jodi wants to swoop in and buy up all the farms in order to please Midland and get back to her life. Not only has her ex husband not seen Tyler, he has also sued to lower his child support payments. Life for mother and son is one obstacle after another and she needs to set things on a better path for their future. 

Going back home was harder than Jodi thought. It stirred up those feelings she had for Daniel, it made her yearn for "home" but competing with that is a mother's love for her son and just what she will do in order to give him the life he needs. 

For me, one of the biggest things was the fact that Daniel is amazing. He's got all the character traits that a girl could wish for, tall, handsome, winning smile - but what made him stand out for me was the fact that he was so accepting of Tyler. He didn't look at Tyler like he was disabled or a "problem to be solved" like many other people did. I am disabled myself and I know just how it is to be judged on your disability, not the person you are beneath the label. So when Daniel went and got Tyler the 'girl toy' (read HHG and you will know which scene I mean) it made me smile from ear to ear, and shed a tear or two because he's such an amazing guy. He's kind, thoughtful, patient, tender, loving and he loves Jodi and Tyler for who they are. 
Tyler deserves the whole world and this was Jodi's way of trying to give it to him. Was the journey hard? Definitely. Was it emotionally fraught? Definitely. Was it absolutely beautiful and compelling? HELL YES!

Would you like to read an excerpt from this amazing book? Yes? Then what are you waiting for? Read on... 

This was one of my favourite scenes:
***

At last, off they went with a jerk that made her teeth knock together. Wow. The thrum of the machine beneath her and the sense of control as she steered filled her with a rush of adrenaline. It’d been such a long time since she’d driven a tractor, and the thrill of it returned to her. The wind whipped her hair behind her, carrying away her fear. Tyler’s screeching echoed her own elation and the air she breathed smelled slightly sweet, like growing things. When she looked over her shoulder, Sue waved and Daniel jogged beside them. When they rounded the last barn and headed out into lush, open fields, Tyler squealed and she wanted to join him. She hadn’t been surrounded by this much unbroken greenery in a long time. Even when she spoke with farmers, she met them in their homes, not on their fields. Perhaps she should have followed up on Midland’s purchases and seen the improvements they’d made as Daniel had suggested. She’d actually missed this. When she returned to Aunt Grace’s house, she would set up an appointment with a company farm and bring Daniel as promised. Daniel disappeared for a moment and she thought they’d left him behind until she felt the tractor dip in back and his voice whisper in her ear. “So far so good.” She shivered in awareness of his proximity as he balanced behind them on the storage box. His fingers rested on her shoulders as he stood to his full height. Jodi peeked up at him and took in the handsome picture he made. Beltless, low-slung jeans rode on his narrow hips and a thin T-shirt stretched across his well-defined chest. From this angle, his jaw looked more square than ever, his muscular neck rising from broad shoulders. The bright blue sky behind him contrasted with his dark hair and hazel eyes. Another bone-jarring mud hole made Tyler flap his hands and Jodi return her eyes to the straightaway. And that’s when she saw them… Strawberries. The sun-kissed rows of plants stretched to a distant tree line, the berries so blood-ripe, so rich and lovely, that the invitation to pluck and sink her teeth into them was irresistible. How long since she’d gathered fruit? Delight filled her. “The local schools and families have picked most of the fields, but this section is unharvested,” he hollered over the engine’s roar. “Okay.” She slowed the machine, feeling shaky but victorious when it rolled to a stop. Since her father’s accident, she’d avoided machinery like this. Now she’d conquered it, and a feeling of lightness grew within her. Daniel jumped off and held out a hand, his eyes dancing. The sun brought out the lighter brown in his hair and made the yellow flecks in his eyes shine like gold beneath thick lashes. “Ready?” More than, she thought, her excitement hard to contain. She wanted to rush through the rows of plants, trailing her fingers along the crinkly leaves, inhaling the earthy goodness. Her hands fumbled to take out Tyler’s earplugs before she undid the buckle and handed him to Daniel. He held the wiggling boy with one hand and extended another to help her down. “Thank you. Oh.” An idea pulled her up short when her heels sunk into the ground. “What will we put the berries in?” 
Daniel grinned, set down Tyler and raised the lid on his storage bin. He dumped some tools from a container and lifted his shirt to wipe it, exposing a toned stomach that Jodi did her best to ignore. She took the container and followed the twosome into the strawberry patch. The site of him shuffling beside her son, his large hand enveloping Tyler’s as they trod down the plant rows, made her heart skip a beat. Tyler peered up at Daniel the way he’d looked at the tractor. And maybe for him, the two were in the same category. For the past year it’d been just her and Tyler, and now seeing him with Daniel made her wish her son had a strong male role model. Daniel glanced over his shoulder, his profile outlined by the sun streaming over distant treetops. “How does this look?” He swept his arm in a circle, and all around, plump berries peeked through jagged-edged oval leaves. “Perfect. I mean, fine.” She cleared her throat. “This is good. Thanks.” Why was she babbling like a schoolgirl? This was Daniel. Not a man she’d see romantically. Not again. Daniel got on his knees, pinched off a deep red fruit and handed it to Tyler. “Want one?” Tyler shoved it in his mouth, then patted Daniel’s cheeks. Daniel smiled up at her. “I’m thinking that’s a yes.” She got on her knees beside him and kicked off her horrible shoes. It warmed her from the inside out to see Tyler so excited and interactive. She wouldn’t let her rivalry, or her conflicting emotions with Daniel, spoil this moment. “I’d say so!” Happiness added a lilt of laughter to her voice and Daniel eyed her, his expression wary. Maybe he was afraid of her charms for a change. She plucked berries and placed them in the container. Daniel followed suit and, to her amazement, Tyler grabbed a few, as well. They might have been squashed, flattened even, but they were the best berries in the world as far as she was concerned. 
***
Are you convinced to read this book yet? Of course you are! But I'll entertain you with another little sneak peek first...
***
The music began and Mary gave Daniel a little shove. “Have at her. Indulge us for old times’ sake. Everyone thought you two would make a great couple when you weren’t scrapping.” He looked down at a dismayed Jodi. “Guess we can’t disappoint our fans.” She threw her hands up and he swept her into his arms. And just like he thought, the feel of her brought back their middle school days. He recalled his sweaty palms on her tiny waist and how much he’d tripped because, instead of counting the steps, he’d counted the freckles on her nose. Kind of like now. “Mr. Martin had some crazy taste in music,” she surprised him by saying, a far-off look in her eyes. “How did that count as exercise?” Being around her raised his blood pressure. She was the best cardio he could imagine. They moved across the crowded floor, weaving in and out of other couples. “No idea.” When the tempo changed he twirled and dipped her, their mouths nearly touching as he bent her over his arm for a long, breathless moment. The feel of her made his blood surge. “Let me up,” she said in a rush, and pushed at his chest, her touch electric. When he straightened, he pulled her closer and smoothed the hair that had come loose from her bun, her locks like silk. He inhaled the light, fresh scent of her and his body tightened against hers. His eyes dropped to her lips and he remembered her taste: honeysuckle and lemon drops. Kissing her had felt like kissing sunshine and for a moment he lost himself in the glow of that memory. “Daniel,” she whispered, her eyes shimmering up at him, her voice husky. “People are watching.” “Let them.” When she trembled in his arms, he knew she was remembering the afternoons he’d held her this way. How they’d lie snuggled in the deep grass together, the blue sky their only witness. It’d been magic. The ultimate trick, however, was her disappearing act. The thought sobered him and he loosened his grip. She challenged, exhilarated, frustrated and attracted him like no other. Yet she had crushed him, too, and he sensed that could happen as easily now as it had then if he wasn’t careful. He wasn’t just at war with her, he also battled himself. As he guided her through the swaying couples, their bodies moved in perfect sync. Suddenly he thought of her ex and felt a rush of jealousy at the thought of her in another man’s arms. “I’m sorry to hear about your divorce,” he said, and felt her stiffen. “I got through it,” she said lightly, her eyes sliding from his. “Do you still see him?” An irrational need to know how much time she still spent with the man seized him. It didn’t matter—or it shouldn’t—yet somehow, it did. A laugh-snort escaped her and her gaze flew to his. “Not since he left.” “What about Tyler?” he blurted. The guy might be a fool for not returning Jodi’s love, but he must at least care for his own child. The music ended and he led her to a table by the window. After pulling out her chair, he straddled his. Jodi caught her lower lip between her teeth and gazed outside. The sun had set completely and the moon was up, a wedge of creamy white casting its reflection onto the 
lake. Night wind rattled tree branches, knocking them against one another. “Not Tyler, either,” she said at last, her voice sounding empty. Scraped out. He found her cold fingers beneath the table and wrapped his palms around them. “He’s a terrible father.” And a horrible person. Who would abandon his wife and child? He’d known she was a single mother, but he’d never known that she was raising her son entirely on her own. After this night of revelations, she’d surprised him again and he admired her even more. What a strong, caring person. Jodi nodded, her face bleak and beautiful. “Tyler wouldn’t stop crying after his dad left until—” She froze, then yanked her hands away and stood. “I’ve got to go.” “Jodi.” His voice stopped her. “I—I—” He broke off, searching for the right words the way he might grope for a light switch in the dark. She glanced around the bar, the faraway look gone, her expression sharp. “We shouldn’t do this. It’s not good for either of us to get this personal. My focus is on Tyler. Not bars. Not men.” She gazed at him, her eyes pleading. “Not you.” Before he could stand, she flew out the door, leaving him again. 
***

Well, now you should definitely be convinced to go and buy it. So what are you waiting for?

Thank you for stopping by my blog to see what I thought of this amazing story. Thank you to Karen for writing a book that I never knew would become so close to my heart. Thank you for creating Daniel, Tyler, Jodi... I am so pleased I got to meet them. 

Here are the buy links for you to check out:









Monday, 7 April 2014

Review of DEAR TABITHA by Trudy Stiles


Title: DEAR TABITHA 
Author: Trudy Stiles
Publication Date: March 28th 2014
Source: eARC provided by the author for review purposes

This book is not suitable for young readers. It is intended for mature adults only (18+). It contains strong language, adult/sexual situations and some violence. 

Dear Tabitha is BOOK TWO in the Forever Family Series. Dear Emily should be read FIRST as this is NOT a standalone book.


You know me. You know who I am. What I am.

Damaged. Confused. Alone.

You feel sorry for me. You pity me. 

You know what I’ve done. What I’ve given up. Who I’ve given up.

You try to understand what I’ve been through and how I can go on with my life. But you can’t possibly understand.

I’ve lost too much. Sacrificed too much. Given up everything so that I can find myself.

Well, I’m done.

I’m done walking away from everything that matters. 

It’s time for me to heal. 

It’s MY TURN to earn…

Redemption.
Love.
Family.
“Dear Tabitha” is the second book in the “Forever Family” series. This is book 2 of 2 and concludes the story that began in "Dear Emily". It is NOT a standalone story and is meant to be read after Dear Emily.

*I Hereby Award This Book 5 Wings!*

I have just put this book down and wanted to write my review while it was fresh in my mind. The trouble is, I don't think I have enough words - at least not coherent ones - that can sum this book up. It was beautiful, amazing, heart-wrenching, sad, happy... I felt so many emotions whilst reading it that it was like being on a roller coaster with the ups and downs, twists and turns, all things I didn't see coming. When I read Dear Emily, I didn't think it could get any better, but Trudy Stiles has gone and brought her A-game to the table yet again and blown me away. If you haven't read Dear Emily, then you are seriously missing out. You can read my review of it here

Dear Tabitha is the story of a broken girl who seeks love, redemption and most importantly family. Tabby has never felt like she truly belonged, at least not since Trina died. All she wants is a family of her own. She  needs to love and to be loved. She's grown up a lot since Dear Emily and it's good to see her in a good place in her life. But all that is under threat of collapse now that Alex is back and wants to see her.  He's been on the road with the band but now he's home, he wants to see Tabby and nothing can prepare either of them for what is about to happen. 
In this book, we learn more about Tabby's past and the gruelling, despicable things she has had to endure. Trudy Stiles is an amazingly talented author and she has managed to create a tangled web of lies, abuse, rape and more hurt than one person should be able to handle. We see Tabby at her weakest point, but then we see her life progress and how she goes from broken to strong in one long journey. This is a story packed with so many powerful emotions that I found myself stopping reading to cry numerous times. It was a tumultuous journey for the reader as well as the characters, but that doesn't mean it can't end well.
I won't spoil the ending for you - in fact I won't spoil anything at all by going into too much detail. Suffice to say though, the ending had me crying tears of a different kind. 
I absolutely loved the characters. From Tabby to Alex, Dax, Tristan, Kirsten and yeah, even Garrett and eventually, Seth. 
Seth made it initially hard to give a damn about him, but yeah, now I can't wait for the Forever Family book #3 which is his story. 

You can be sure Dear Tabitha will have a place in my heart. I went through some similar things to Tabby and it endeared her to me all the more, I felt a real connection with her. That was one of the best things about this whole story, the characters were tangible, real, as though I could reach through the pages and touch them like they touched me. 

Thank you Trudy for the opportunity to read and review this epic novel. 

Thank you to everyone who stopped by to read my review. I hope you go on to read the Forever Family books if you haven't already. 



Friday, 14 March 2014

GLITCH by Brenda Pandos *Blog Tour*





Genre: New Adult Dystopian
Perfect World. Lies. Blue eyes.

When a mysterious guy from the forbidden zone sneaks an illegal slip of paper to a beautiful young girl from Brighton, she must decide if she should turn him in or follow what the note says. 

Eighteen-year-old Abby has no trouble following Brighton’s rules. For one, she’s OCD about checking her Date of Death clock, making sure her decisions never shorten her timeline, and two, she enjoys the peace Brighton has to offer. In no way would she bring on another attack that destroyed earth’s inhabitants like her predecessors. But when her best friend returns from her Advice Meeting--a glimpse into the future--shell shocked and won’t tell Abby what’s happened, she’s worried what awaits her Advice Meeting in a few days. The stranger with blue-eyes knows something, but does Abby dare enter the forbidden zone to get answers? It's infested with zombies, or so the Elected Agency says, yet there hasn't been sightings in years.... Those who enjoyed Divergent, Hunger Games, Time Travelers Wife and Walking Dead, will love Glitch.

Check out the Excerpt and enter to win a signed copy!
GRAB GLITCH TODAY AT THESE RETAILERS!
amazon   bn   kobobutton
(iTunes and the Paperback will appear shortly)
“So much happens in this book that you are just hooked and can't stop reading.” -Adriana
“This is a zombie story with a difference.” -Claire
“Recommend for all age fans of paranormal, zombies, dystopia and time travel!” -MS

EXCERPT:


Keeping my eyes on the ball, I tripped on something hard and round. My ankle twisted, tipping me over, and I fell directly into the foliage. I half-expected to land on solid ground beneath my butt, but all that was there was air. Then I thudded onto the rocks and continued sliding down a sharp decline. Tumbling over, I slid head first into the dry creek bed with an oomph.
Once the momentum stopped my body and the racing of my brain lessened, pain ricocheted everywhere. I bit back a wail and tears trickled down my cheeks. Beyond the stars flickering over my vision, birds jostled the leaves of the trees, taking flight in the bright sky. With my head spinning, I lay still, afraid to get up. Thoughts of a trip to the hospital and a cast from ankle to thigh rocked through me. Just my luck to break something right before my Advice Meeting.
“You okay?”
I startled at the male’s voice and gasped, struggling to right myself. Something other than pain jolted down my side as cool, blue eyes under a shock of dark hair met mine. My breath caught and I forced down a swallow. Cute—so cute. I couldn’t form anything coherent for a second, other than zombies didn’t talk.
“I—I’m fine.”
He quirked his head, scanning the length of my body. “I doubt that.”
Warmth rushed through me while under the gaze of this mysterious guy and my brain filed through all the faces of my potential mates online. His was one I’d definitely remember, especially with those eyes, and yet this was the first time I’d seen him. How did he escape my stalking? Was he on the unapproved list because of his blue eyes? From another province perhaps? One thing was for sure: he most definitely wasn’t a zombie.
“Here.” He reached for me and clasped my hand. His grip was strong and warm as he pulled me to my feet. But there was something between our palms, something flat, yet stiff with pointed edges.
He squeezed my hand hard and leveled me with a convicted look. I felt a rush of blood hit my cheeks when he held on a little too long.
“What is this?” I peered into his anxious eyes. Did he expect that I should know him? What was between our hands?
“Shhh—” he said, cautiously. “I just—need to tell you—”
He looked around nervously, then dropped my hand when the shouts of my teammates called from the ridge.
“Abby?” I heard Elle scream above the rest. “Are you okay?”
“I’m fine,” I called while my heart revved to a sprint. I fingered the thing he’d given me, trapping the evidence inside my palm, as my chest filled with terror. My mouth opened and shut, then I scanned the trees for hidden cameras. If I was caught with what I’d suspected he’d given me, we’d be arrested, no questions asked.
The strange, cute guy moved backward into the trees, blending in with his grey and black clothing. I wanted to ask him where he was going. The only thing echoing in my head was the Civilian Handbook.
Rule 6.1: Paper is illegal. To not make, manufacture, or use paper in any way. Report all violations of this law, or suffer a year in prison.
The sweat in my palm softened the pointed edges of the note. If I kept my hand closed, the EA wouldn’t see. But then how could I read what it said?
“Abby?” Elle screamed again. “Where are you?”
I moved away from the guy and back toward a trail leading up the side of the ravine to the field in a rush, panicked over the paper, panicked over everything.
“I’m coming.” I warred with a weird sense of being torn. My numb feet stumbled forward, knowing the correct response would be to run and report him. Another part of me wanted to help him. He wore vintage clothing from the pre-zombie era and black Converse shoes I’d kill for and had only seen in the museums. Where in the heck did he get his hands on paper? And why would he trust me with it? One quick glance at his wrist—no DOD watch. I wanted to ask him, but then I knew the EA was listening. Time ticked on slowly as we looked questioningly, into one another’s eyes.
When I looked up the trail once again, my teammates’ feet were rushing toward me, stirring up dirt everywhere. I turned back to the guy one last time, but the blue eyed stranger was gone.
His note, though, burned in my palm. And then, as the girls rushed down the trail toward me, terror flooded me. If I were caught, I’d be detained for who knows how long. I moved to the tall grass, stooped over to pick up my glove and stuffed the note under a shiny black rock, praying no one would notice.


CHAPTER TWO

Careful to remain under the cloak of darkness, I sucked in the precious air and pulled the black hoody tight around my face. Feeling naked without my Date of Death watch on, I quickly scanned the softball field for signs of life. If anyone caught me here, I’d have a lot of explaining to do. That was if the undead didn’t get me first. I shuddered and pushed away the thought.
I’m safe. There’s been no sightings in years, I reminded myself. Besides, I had to go. I had to know what the note said.
Sneaking along the edge of the field, I darted stealthily in the shadows, fighting the cold. The chilly February night was in direct opposition to the unseasonably warm day we’d had earlier, yet I couldn’t get Blue Eyes out of my mind—his clothes, his shoes, his eyes, his illegal paper. And no matter how hard I tried or as stupid as breaking curfew and sneaking out was, I knew I wouldn’t be able to fall asleep until I knew what the note had said.
Across the street, Elle’s brother Landon’s bedroom light beamed from the swanky remodeled apartments, perks of being a top security monitor for the EA. Courage burned through my veins as something he’d said replayed in my mind. The reason the EA insisted on everyone wearing their watches at all times was because cameras had difficulty deciphering people’s faces in the dark. He’d know, with all the sneaking and breaking of rules that he did. I never broke the law, ever. One, for fear of getting caught, and two, for having the stress take years off my life.
There was something in the way Blue Eyes looked at me that I couldn’t shake. The huge risk he took to transfer this information to me, one the EA couldn’t intercept and why paper was illegal in the first place, drove me mad with curiosity. Giant computers in the EA shrines held all interactions between people, conversations recorded by DOD and messages off people’s flat screens, and only through a warrant were those private interactions allowed to become known. Of course Landon said that was bullshit, which is why I’d removed my watch before sneaking out.
My heart thumped as I looked over my shoulder toward the street. Landon’s apartment overlooked the field and if he spotted and reported me, or my mother found my unattended watch next to my flat screen, playing a recording of me sleeping in the background, I’d be dead. Though we lived in a crime-free society, she’d send everyone on a hunt to find me. I’d be arrested and forced to talk. Then they’d implant a DOD band on me—one I couldn’t take off, ever. I would be branded a criminal.
Bands of light from the security tower tried to penetrate the dense trees and the proof of what I’d destroyed with my fly ball came into view. Wow. I’d knocked the container off its hinges. But where was the gun? Had I knocked that off, too? And why hadn’t anyone come to repair it?
I stepped into the tree line, feeling a cold rush of bitter wind cycle through the grasses and around my ankles. Hugging my arms to myself, I traversed the path from earlier, my feet stumbling in the darkness. My mind began to wander. What if a zombie could sneak over the wall now that there wasn’t a functioning gun? Were they smart enough to climb? I inhaled, sniffing for rotted flesh, and trudged down the path quickly. The dank dust flooded into my nostrils as my heart raced harder. A rustle in the leaves made me freeze. With wide eyes, I choked down the bile and held my breath, anticipating a feral groan. The walking dead, according to the survival manual, only reacted when they saw living flesh or smelled blood, but you weren’t to tempt fate.
Rule 21.2: If you’re in need of help, press your emergency button and call for backup immediately, especially in an attack with the undead.
Of course, without my watch on, that wasn’t a possibility for me.
I waited, and after hearing nothing else, I continued down to the end of the trail. Zombies didn’t know to hide or be quiet, but I didn’t want to bring attention to myself with a flashlight. Barely able to see the path, let alone a miniscule slip of illegal paper, I knelt down with a wish and a prayer.
Brushing my hands through the grass, hoping spiders and bugs kept far away from me, I searched. My thigh throbbed in pain from the fall earlier, as I scoured helplessly for the rock. It had to be here.
Where is it?
Out of the corner of my eye, I spotted the gleam of black in the moonlight. I reached for it, counting my blessings, when something large scuttled through the brush behind me. I squeaked, snagged the rock and slip of paper, and straightened my legs. Holding my breath, I stared to the other side of the dry creek bed toward an illusive dark shape standing at the base of the giant stone wall. I cocked my arm back, ready to pelt whatever it was with the rock. A breeze blew in from the spot, bending back the grasses toward me, revealing it wasn’t a person, but a hole in the rock wall. Then a flash of white scooted past on the other side.
A grunt followed.
My heart leapt into my throat and I sprinted up the trail before I could think. The moan of what had to be a zombie filled my ears. Quelling a scream, I ran to the field, still staying out of the light. I cleared the fence and turned, my chest heaving. The nighttime noises took a backseat to the blood pulsing heavily in my ears. I scanned back and forth, but nothing came out of the trees. I waited to be sure as guilt snaked through me. The most responsible thing would be to report a sighting, but that would mean admitting I was breaking curfew. Maybe I’d just imagined what I’d heard.
Unsure what to do, I ran to the street to find an overhead light. I unfolded the damp note sticking to my palm.

Scrawled in charcoal, I read, “Don’t meet your future self tomorrow. Please.” 

GIVEAWAY:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, 13 March 2014

DEAD SPELL by K.A Young - Release Tour

Dead Spell Release Tour

After being forced to live among the humans, Elise finds herself on the cusp of a war that she isn’t sure how to fight let alone win. Along with a small supernatural group of sorcerers, werewolves, vampires and one Nephilim warrior, she is prepared to risk it all in order to protect and defend the world that they know and love.

While Elise has that one goal in mind, she is also learning to adjust to the gift her mother sent her from the other side, her wolf. And if all that weren’t enough, she must also choose between the affections of the head sorcerer Garrett, and the sexy alpha wolf Enrique. One thing’s for sure, Elise has no intention of being coerced into a relationship neither by loyalty nor a supernatural bond.

Elise never would have imaged that everything would come to a head because of one witches spell. One spell could change everything… 
Available now...

Grab Coven (Book One) for FREE!!!

Elise Michaels' motto has always been: no guts, no glory. She is a thrill seeker, continually craving excitement and adventure. The idea of being tied down to a place or man never interested her, even though a betrothal spell was cast linking her and the Head of Council’s son when they were mere infants.

Being a distant third in succession to assume the Head Mistress role, she felt confidant that her secret would remain in her past along with Coven life. Unfortunately, nothing in our fun loving heroine’s future is anything she or anyone from the supernatural realm is prepared for.

Now, she’s forced to return to the place and the Sorcerer she so desperately sought to forget.

Elise has no idea the power and gifts that await her. Can she let go of her own desires and embrace her new role? Or will she surrender to the faceless evil coming for them all?

Book one in the tantalizing Elise Michaels Series a spinoff of The Nephilim Warrior Series. 
FREE!!!!

About the Author...

K.A. Young is a paranormal/fantasy romance author that lives with her family in the South. She began writing because her mind was swimming with incredible stories that were begging to be told. Her love for reading began as a small child when she realized that a good book was an instant escape to a mystical land that could be reached anytime and from anyplace. 
To find her on the web, please visit: 

Competition time :)

To WIN a Nook Simple Touch and lots of other prizes enter the Rafflecopter.


Happy Reading :) 

Monday, 24 February 2014

Review of THE LIONESS by Jake Bonsignore


Title: THE LIONESS
Publication Date: February 14th 2014
Source: e-copy provided by the author for review purposes


Seventeen-year-old Adria Catarr is a carefree, stubborn girl with an insatiable sweet tooth. When she stumbles into Lando Cardé, the incognito prince, during the annual Midsummer Festival and mistakes his charm for love at first sight, her naïve heart is quickly broken.

Kaidan Sordell, a childhood friend, is there to pick up the pieces and help Adria mend her wounds. His affection for her has gone unnoticed for so long that he’s not sure if he’ll ever have the nerve to tell her how he truly feels.

With the last summer before adulthood upon them, Adria and Kaidan decide to seek out the Temple of the Red Mare. The legendary tales of it revealing a heart’s truest desire is too tempting for lovelorn Adria to pass up.

Will she realize, though, that what she’s looking for has been trekking beside her all along?

*I Hereby Award This Book 5 Wings!*

Where to start this review, that's the question. This book left me speechless for a while. I was in tears and couldn't see to type. This story is one of love, trust and inexplicable bonds - it really a true love tale. There are trials and tribulations along the way, but who better to face them with than your best friend?

Adria Catarr is our heroine and it's her journey we follow. It all starts one fateful night at the Midsummer Festival when she meets the crown prince, Lando Cardé. He's handsome and kind, pays her compliments and whisks her off her feet at the dance. Just like that, Adria believes she's in love and goes home with a feeling of joy in her heart. Upon finding out that Lando is in the dauphin of Masselia, Adria believes it's her destiny to find him and she sets off on a journey with her best friend Kaiden Sordell who is travelling to try and get a place at a very prestigious school. 

We follow along as the two friends have an adventure together on their way to Masselia. Kaiden is in love with Adria and has been since they were children, but will he tell her and if so, will she reciprocate the feelings?

Adria is in for a bit of a shock upon her arrival in Masselia and Kaiden is in for a shock of his own. The pair are drawn back together and set off on another journey, this time a much more fateful one. This time, they seek out the Temple of the Red Mare. There, they will discover much more than they ever thought possible.

What truths will the pair reveal? That's for you to read the book and discover! 

If you read this story, you won't be sorry you did. It was a beautiful novel, cleverly written so that you don't know what's around the corner. There is much laughter but also many tears to be beheld within the pages. This book should come with a warning that reads: "WARNING: A whole box of tissues required."
I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. I couldn't put it more honestly than this: The Lioness: A True Love Tale is a revitalising story of how true love is something that makes you rise. When you are in love, you don't fall, you rise. If it weighs you down, the truth is it probably isn't true love. It reminds you that love is something special that isn't taken by rights, it's given freely. 

Here are two fan-pics I made after rising into love with this emotional story. 



Thank you Jake Bonsignore for the e-ARC, but also for confirming my theory that love is unconditional and beautiful. 
Thank you to anyone who came by to read my review. I hope you'll take a chance on this book like I did.
Here are the buy links:
or to buy a signed copy from Jake, contact him here:




Thursday, 13 February 2014

*Cover Reveal* LOVELINES by S.Walden




Release Date: March 25, 2014
Genre: Adult Contemporary Romance
Spice Factor: Freaking Hot (don't let the cutesy cover fool you)

Arrive to work at 7:58 A.M. sharp. Check. Count forty-seven steps to cubicle. Check. Arrange pens in their red-blue-black-green-purple order of importance. Check. Apply hand sanitizer before opening email. Double check.

And that’s just the first few minutes of her work day.

Thirty-one-year-old proofreader Bailey Mitchell is a slave to her tics. She inherited Obsessive Compulsive Disorder from her father, and it’s done nothing but inhibit her love life. She’s run the gamut of boyfriends—none of them willing or able to cope with her condition.

Enter 32-year-old Reece Powell, her new coworker at Beach Elite Marketing Firm. He’s more than willing to cope. He finds her habits cute and quirky . . . for now. Reece wins her over, and life coasts along for them until Bailey experiences a devastating blow. Tragedy exacerbates her OCD, and Reece realizes her tics aren’t so cute and quirky anymore. Just like all the others, he has the choice to leave.

But Reece isn't like all the others.

The Wilmington Saga
Follow the stories of Wilmington, NC residents as they fall in and out of love, mend and break hearts, grow, change, lose, win, and experience what it means to truly live in this small coastal community.


 “Tell me again why we’ve done our last four beach trips here?” I said. “I mean, we know everyone in this goddamn town. Isn’t the point of a trip to get away? So we don’t have to see people?”

“Bailey, tone down the bitchiness, okay?” Erica ordered. She dug around the inside of her purse for her cell phone. “And you know why. Noah, God love him, is a moron with our kids. I’ve gotta stay close until they get older.”

I snorted, then took off towards another club.

“Bailey!” Erica called, running after me.

“I’m not ready to go back to the hotel,” I said, shrugging off her arm.

“That’s fine. We can hang out, but if you go dark on me . . .”

“Nobody’s going dark, okay? I just wanna get my dance on,” I replied.

I spent the rest of the evening getting wasted and looking like a total slut on the dance floor. My goal was to erase two recent painful memories: shaking my ass for Reece and seeing my ex-fiancé on a booty date.

When Erica and I emerged from the club at 2:30 A.M., a taxi van was waiting. A group of young men (one carrying a case of beer) cut in front of us and threw open the van door.

“Oh, well,” Erica said. “Let’s find another.”

The boy toting the beer spotted us. “Oh, my bad. You wanted this taxi?”

“It’s cool,” Erica replied. “You guys take it. We’ll wait for another.”

“Well, I’ve got a better idea. Why don’t you come with us? We’re going to a film screening.”

The others nodded, shuffling around the sidewalk.

A film screening at 2:30 in the morning? Please. I shook my head. “Thanks, but we’re tired. We’re gonna go home.”

“Nah! Come with us. It’s gonna be a fun time,” Beer Boy pleaded.

“No no,” I replied. “You all go have a good time.”

He turned to his friend and muttered, “Fucking bitch.” A few of the boys snickered.

Excuse me?

And then something in my brain snapped. I watched that little college punk stand there, avoiding my face, gripping his bush-league beer while the taxi driver yelled at his punk ass posse to make a decision.

“Hey, son!” I called in his direction. “There’s no need for that. No need for that kind of language.”

He hung his head—literally hung his head—while I chastised him.

“Bailey, let’s go.” Erica tugged on my arm.

“Now, I’m sorry we turned you down, and I’m sorry if that embarrassed you, but maybe we don’t feel like ‘screening’ the bullshit home movie you shot for film class on your bullshit, cheap ass camcorder.”

“Oh my God,” Erica said.

“We got to this cab first. Then you and your dipshit friends come barreling down the sidewalk and steal it. What you need to be saying to me is ‘I’m sorry’. And then you need to go brush up on the manners you clearly left at home when you came to college. Ain’t nobody gonna wanna fuck a little asshole like you if you can’t be classy,” I said.

“Bailey!” Erica hauled me along.

“Punk ass motherfucker!” I yelled over my shoulder. He flipped me off. I fought Erica as hard as I could. “Let me at him. One minute with that little shit! Just one!”

“Bailey Mitchell!” Erica screamed in my face. “He’s a doofus! All right?! Calm. Down.”

S. Walden used to teach English before making the best decision of her life by becoming a full-time writer. She lives in Georgia with her very supportive husband, who prefers physics textbooks over fiction and has a difficult time understanding why her characters must have personality flaws. She is wary of small children, so she has a Westie instead. She is the USA Today bestselling author of Going Under. When she's not writing, she's thinking about it.

She loves her fans and loves to hear from them. Email her at swaldenauthor@hotmail.com and follow her twitter feed at @swaldenauthor.

Website: http://www.swaldenauthor.com
Blog: http://swaldenauthor.blogspot.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/swaldenauthor
Twitter: @swaldenauthor
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/swaldenauthor




Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...