Thursday, 20 December 2012

*Cover Reveal* The Key Inheritance by Jen McConnel

Cover reveal: the sequel to The Burning of Isobel Key will be available in January 2013!



About the Book:


Ten years after the trip to Scotland that changed her life, Lou is back in the misty, magical country.  This time, however, she’s not on vacation: Lou is there to settle some distasteful and depressing family business.  When Brian, her old Highland fling, turns up, Lou is forced to wrestle with a past that she thought was dead and buried.  As tension between the former lovers mounts, something wicked is stirring in Scotland.  Lou must use all her strength to handle the increasingly desperate situation, but will she be strong enough to battle both a vengeful ghost and her heart?

The Key Inheritance is a novella that takes place a decade after the events of The Burning of Isobel Key.  This contemporary story crosses into the supernatural as Lou discovers evidence of a long-dead spirit who refuses to rest in peace.  Lou may have thought that she was finished with the witch Isobel Key, but her inheritance is more than the young woman can handle alone.


Want to read an ARC of The Key Inheritance? Sign up here for your chance to get an advance copy just in time for the holidays.

 

 

Release date: October 1, 2012
When Lou travels to Scotland, she’s a mess. She’s twenty-six, unemployed, and unsure of herself. It doesn’t help that she’s traveling with Tammy, her best friend, who is everything Lou is not. At first, the trip pushes Lou towards the brink of depression, but then she meets Brian, a handsome local tour guide. When Brian tells the tourists about the countless witches burned in Scotland, Lou starts to listen. And when she discovers information about Isobel Key, one of the victims of the seventeenth century, Lou finds renewed purpose. She sets out to learn the truth of the condemned witch, but she isn’t prepared for the knowledge that waits for her. Lou must face her demons if she has any hope of righting the wrongs of the past.

THE BURNING OF ISOBEL KEY, available from Amazon Fall 2012.
Book Extras
Grab Your Copy
Jen McConnel's books on Goodreads
The Burning of Isobel Key The Burning of Isobel Key
reviews: 30
ratings: 41 (avg rating 4.22)



Saturday, 15 December 2012

Review of LOVE AND RELATIVITY by Rachael Wade


Author: Rachael Wade
Publication Date: December 12th 2012
Source: e-copy provided by the author for review

"Love, life, and happily ever after? It’s all relative.

Marine biology student Emma Pierce lives in paradise—geographically speaking, anyway. Stranded on Sanibel Island, Florida, she works at a nursing home by day and spends her nights dodging the island's infamous bad boy, Jackson Taylor, at her favorite karaoke bar. Trying to heal from the loss of her sister and a failed relationship she rerouted her life for, she's ready to graduate and finally leave Florida behind.

When a run-in with Jackson and his rowdy crew goes sour at the bar one night, sparks fly and irreversible damage is done. It’s no secret that Jackson loves to get underneath her skin, but this time he's gone too far. Now all he wants is to earn her forgiveness before she's gone for good, but their ideas of closure—and the future—are enough to keep them worlds apart."

*I Hereby Award This Book 5 Wings*

Have you ever read a book that made you laugh, cry, get excited, get infuriated and eventually you find yourself emotionally numb? If not, then prepare yourself and read Love and Relativity. 
I can honestly say, even though the year is not yet over, this is my favourite book of 2012. It's an emotional roller coaster for the characters, but also for you the reader. 

Emma Pierce doesn't do casual flings. She wants a serious relationship with someone who loves her as much as she loves them. 
Jackson Taylor doesn't do serious relationships. He goes from girl to girl. Bed-hopping is almost like a sport and if it was in the Olympics, Jackson would surely win gold. 

Emma is studying marine biology, hoping to get into a university in Seattle. Her sister Jen passed away recently and Emma feels like she needs to live the dream. It was Jen's dream to travel and so Emma feels like she should fulfill it. She's getting over the loss of a long and steady relationship, because Chris cheated on her and so she feels the need to pack up and leave Florida behind forever. 
But is she really leaving for herself or because it was Jen and their mom's dream to travel? And in the end, does it matter who's dream it is, as long as she fulfills it?

Jackson has known Emma for years and he always tries to get her to see him the way he sees her. On a Friday night at Pete's, he knows she goes in with her best friend Whitney, so when he goes in with his friends to play pool, he always sidles up and flirts with her. But Emma never gives in to his flirtations. She doesn't want to be just another notch on his bedpost. Doesn't stop him trying though, right?!

On a Friday night, Emma and Whitney go to Pete's, share a shrimp basket, get drunk and then Emma gets up on the karaoke with Jackson to belt out a tune by Sublime. It's been a tradition for a while now, that and the fact that Jackson comes and flirts with her. She knows he's a serial bed-hopper but she can't help the attraction she has for him. His charisma and magnetism coupled with his tanned body, 'elevator sex' hair and beautiful eyes, all make for a racing pulse. But she knows she can't go there. She wants serious, he's just looking for a good time...

Emma can't but help but remember the night her sister Jen died and how Jackson came to her rescue as she was at the side of the road. He wrapped her in a blanket and took her home, he held her and the silence wasn't an uncomfortable one. Jackson was her rock. He let her sit there without pushing her to talk. He let her in time and time again as she felt the need for the safety and comfort that came with visiting him. 

Somehow, Jackson has gotten under her skin. He's an itch she can't scratch even though she desperately wants to. She knows what it's like to kiss those soft, sensuous lips. They've shared a couple of kisses before. But never more than that.... Until... one night she caves in and goes home with him.

Can she do casual? Can Jackson do serious? They fight what they are feeling whilst they are both wondering if they cross each others minds. 

At this point in the book, I was really rooting for a happy ending for them because I had fallen totally in love with Jack. He got under my skin. This was my Goodreads status at 37% into the book....
"My heart is on the verge of breaking for Jack and Em right now. I am really rooting for a happy ending, I think they deserve one. I'll be heartbroken if they don't end up together."

I have to be honest, this book had really gotten to me. I was hook, line and sinker invested in the story and characters. 
I was reminded of a song by one of my favourite bands, Our Kind of Love by Lady Antebellum. The lyrics in particular were "Just like driving on an open highway, never knowing what we're gonna find. Just like two kids baby, always trying to live it up, woah yeah that's our kind of love"

At 50% in, I was more than ready to get into the book and knock the pair of their heads together. I couldn't hold back the tears. This was my Goodreads status...
"OMSG can tears come down in an avalanche? Is that possible? If it is, that's what's just happened to me. Every time I read a book by Rachael Wade, I know I can't fight back the inevitable crying, but I hope to ward it off as long as possible. This time it was the halfway point and I blew a gasket. Damn I need to wash my tear streaked face!!!!!"

That was the first time I cried but I knew it wouldn't be the last. How right was I when I got to 67%, I cried yet again. My Goodreads status went like this...
"So yet another deluge of tears. I can't stop crying this time though. All I can do is taste salt as they wend their way inevitably onto my lips and into my mouth. Damn you Jackson, you stubborn bastard *goes back to reading and crying and wiping my eyes on my sleeve*"

As you can probably tell, I was more than a little frustrated at this point.Imagine how I felt when I got to 72% and had to put the book down and physically walk away. I turned off my Kindle and went to bed. I just couldn't read any more. This was my Goodreads status... 
"I can't cry any more tonight, I have a headache. I'm going to bed and will tackle the last 28% tomorrow when I think I can face it. That's the thing, I physically need to walk away from this book because I'm so angry. Jackson Taylor is undeniably a bastard but I (like Emma) love him anyway!"

I couldn't help but be reminded of one of my favourite songs. This song is the absolute epitome of Em and Jack....I Run To You by Lady Antebellum....

"I run from hate
I run from prejudice
I run from pessimists
But I run too late
I run my life
Or is it running me
Run from my past
I run too fast
Or too slow it seems
When lies become the truth
That's when I run to you

[Chorus]
This world keeps spinning faster
Into a new disaster so I run to you
I run to you baby
And when it all starts coming undone
Baby you're the only one I run to
I run to you..."

The following morning, I thought I would finish the last few chapters off. What I wasn't prepared for was to have to put it down again after only one chapter. That chapter was filled with so much emotion that I was crying like a newborn baby. So I put it down for a couple of hours until I had composed myself enough to read the end. 
At this point, I was determined to see the book through to the end in one last sitting. I knew there was going to be at least one more time where I cried. I could see it coming a mile off. But what I didn't prepare for was to cry another THREE times!! 

I was reminded of another of my favourite songs... Need You Now by Lady Antebellum....

 This book was such an emotional journey that I really should have had an extra large box of tissues beside me as I read. When I first picked it up, I didn't realise what I was in for. If I had, I would have packed a bag for the trip.

Rachael Wade is one of my favourite authors. She has been since I read her Resistance Trilogy. Then I read Preservation which was amazing. I am really looking forward to reading the sequel, Reservation because we get to see some more of Em and Jack. The thought of that makes me really happy. 

I love Rachael's style of writing so much because she doesn't just write a book. It's not just any story. No, it's a journey, an experience. She makes me want to dive into the book and stay there forever. In the case of Love and Relativity, I really wanted to get in there and bang Em and Jack's heads together and make them see that although from the outside it looks like they want different things, they really should just get together and see where it takes them. You don't know if you don't try, right?!

It was a complicated situation for the two of them, there were secrets, lies and skeletons in the closet that if I disclosed right now, you would hate me for ruining the story for you. So all I will tell you is that although they have their ups and downs, Em and Jack really are perfect for each other. 

I have a thing for happy endings, for passionate love stories. If you do too, please pick up a copy of this amazing book.

Thank you all for coming by to read my review. I hope it makes you want to buy the book.











Friday, 14 December 2012

Welcome To My Stop On The Blog Tour For When Angels Fall by Jo Cattell





Author: Jo Cattell
Publication Date: November 21st 2012
Source: copy provided by the author for review

From Goodreads:
THE FIRST BOOK IN THE FALLEN ANGELS SERIES
When Angels Fall
“The Corpse Girl—A Town Legend.” 
It happened almost six years ago. A quiet ten-year-old girl was left to care for her sick, dying mother. Day after day, night after night, the girl watched as her mother’s body slowly grew weaker. Her father had left, and in his parting words to his young daughter, he said, "if you kill your mother and end this suffering, I will claim you as my child and give you all you ever wanted. But only after you have truly ended her life..."
Everyone heard the rumors at the Sacred Heart Catholic School. Was it true that one of their own had killed their mother in a mercy killing?
Only sixteen year old Chloe Gardner knew the truth. Her life had been dark and cold until she met Nick Allen. Could he ever love her? No one loved her before, could she trust this new boy who just moved to their town?
Seventeen year old Nick had vowed after many moves to not have a girlfriend in this new town. Then, he met Chloe, with her shy smile and sweet ways. He just couldn't resist and he became part of her world. What was behind her sad eyes and quiet ways? He found he couldn't seem to care as he fell in love for the first time in his young life.
**A Sweet Romance by Debut Author, Jo Cattell.*

I've been wondering for months what I would write in my review for this fabulous book. See, I was the first person to read this after Jo's BETA's and close family & friends. She wanted a readers honest opinion, I'm so glad she chose me and now I am so happy that I am finally able to share my thoughts with you. 
Don't worry, I am able to give an unbiased opinion. I became friends with Jo only after I'd read the book. At first, we were purely author and reader but now I am proud to say that we are friends. It was the emotions of the book that brought us together. I found this book sends a very profound message about love, friendship, family and all that comes along with it but also the darker side of what happens when your family abandon you.

When I first read Jo's WIP, then titled "Summer Rain", I fell in love with Nick, Chloe and The Allen family. But a lot of my love was reserved for Kevin, one of Nick's brothers. As a secondary character, he still managed to play an important role. So when Jo told me she had to cut down the original manuscript, I thought that we may lose some of what made it one of my favourite books of 2012.  Thankfully, I can tell you, it lost nothing at all. It is still just as fabulous but now I know that in the next installment 'After Angels Fall' - due for release in time for Christmas - that I will be put through the mill emotion wise. 

Jo offered me the finished copy of When Angels Fall for review as soon as it was published and so this review comes from the finished copy, not the original WIP. 

*I Hereby Award This Book 5 Wings*

Nick Allen is a teenage boy who lives with his parents Gina and Mark and his brothers Mark, Kevin and the youngest, Max. The Allen family have travelled all over the place for the last few years of their lives but now it is time to finally settle down. Mr Allen has signed a 5 year contract, so they're here to stay. The boys are unsure of just how much they can settle in. They are used to being told one thing, only to discover that another thing will eventually happen. 

Chloe Gardner is a teenage girl who lives with her father and step-mother - I can't bear to say their names, and once you read the story, you will realise why.
She's a good Catholic girl who goes to a Catholic school where they believe in 'purity rings'. You are to wear this ring as a sign that you intend to wait until you are married before engaging in a sexual relationship. 

When Nick first meets Chloe, she is nothing more than a rude girl who queue jumps for a ride in front of Nick and younger brother Max at a carnival. So it takes both Nick and Chloe aback when Sister MM assigns Chloe to show Nick around the first day he starts at her school. 

Chloe is a girl with more barriers erected around her than you would find at a maximum security prison. She is emotionally guarded as she has problems at home, as well as problems within her so-called group of friends.
Her friends are pressuring her to date Josh. He's a popular boy and they all think that the two would make the perfect couple. But Chloe can't stop thinking about the boy she met at the carnival and was informed by his little brother just how rude Nick thought she was when she pushed in the queue to be with her friends.
She's not really looking for a relationship. She's emotionally scarred and believes she's damaged goods. She also believes her friends when they tell her that she should be with Josh. She keeps putting him off but she thinks it's inevitable. 

Whilst Chloe's friends are pushing her in one direction, Nick can't help but think that they are wrong and Chloe should not be forced to do something she isn't inclined to do. He also can't seem to get her out of his head. But Nick too wears a purity ring and has scars of his own to bear. 
When they moved, Nick left behind his ex girlfriend Kelly. As the story progresses we realise why exactly Nick bears those emotional scars.

As the two become friends, Chloe learns to let her barriers down one by one. She tells Nick that she is damaged and that she isn't good girlfriend material. She also tells him that she has to learn to trust him. 
Nick is determined to earn her trust and help her realise she's not as damaged as she thought. 

After a disastrous date with Josh, Chloe is glad to have Nick to talk to. Her friends just wouldn't understand. They keep pushing her to go out with him but upon going on their first date, she realised what a mistake she had made.

Slowly, Chloe opens up more about her past. She tells Nick that the story he heard when he first started school about the girl who killed her mother is actually about her and that it is entirely wrong. Where the nasty kids at school tell about the girl who poisoned her mother, that couldn't be further from the truth. Chloe was there when her mother passed away, but did not in any way cause her death. (You'll find out the full story when you read the book).

Nick comes to understand that Chloe spends a lot of her time at home alone because her father and step-mother are away on business a lot. They leave her money to order take-out for her dinner, but that's about it. 
Neither her father nor her step-mother care about Chloe and though I won't divulge any spoilers here, you will see for yourself just how selfish, self-absorbed, despicable and loathsome the Gardners really are.  I could say so much here about how much I came to hate the pair, but I won't. You won't need further ranting from me when you discover things for yourself because you will fully agree with me. 

As he learns this, Nick coaxes Chloe into spending more time at his house. He brings her round for meals and for the social interaction she should experience within her own family, if indeed she had one that bothered with her. 

Chloe soon learns what it would be like to grow up with parents who love you and more than that, actually love each other. She also learns what it would be like to grow up with 3 brothers. There's always something going on at the Allen home. Gina cooks wonderful meals, the boys watch movies and have 'bro days'. There's just always something to feel a part of and when Chloe's father informs her she will be home alone for Christmas again, Gina and Mark ask her to spend the holidays with them instead. 
Overcome with the thoughts of having a 'family Christmas', Chloe agrees but doesn't know what she's let herself in for (in a good way). 

As Nick and Chloe become closer, she starts to trust him and open up to him in a way she hasn't with anyone else, even her so-called friends. I call them that because though she may think of them as the kind of friends a girl should have, the group really aren't all that good for her. The only one I have any time for is Gabbie. (You'll see why).

This book touches upon so many emotions. It tugged at my heart strings so many times. There was the odd tear here and there but then at the end, there was an onslaught of tears. It was like Niagara Falls. I was so glad I had a roll of tissue handy. 
There are deeper issues in this book than you realise and many of them, I have firsthand experience of. That's probably why I was such an emotional wreck when it ended.

If you asked me to pick a favourite character, I just couldn't do it. Nick is possibly up there at the top as he's the kind of boyfriend every girl dreams of having. Chloe is there too because she's like me in a lot of ways. There's so much of her story I can relate to. But then I also love Gina, Mark, Robb, Mark, Kevin, Max, Claire... I adore them all. 

I would recommend this book to just about anybody, Though it does come with a warning (from me personally) that no-one under about 15 should read it. There are scenes of a slightly disturbing nature, as well as scenes of a sexual nature. 

In my honest opinion, this book deserves more than the 5 wings I awarded it. I hold Jo Cattell as a debut author in a very high regard. She is seriously someone to watch out for over the coming months and years.
Jo writes from the heart, you can tell that by the way she develops the story. You can tell that there is indeed a piece of her soul embedded in each book she writes. She shares an emotional bond with you the reader and it's up to you the individual whether you feel it or not. But honestly, I defy even the hardest hearted of people not to. 

I fell hook, line and sinker into this book. Seriously head over heels tumbled into it and had to pick myself up piece by piece at the end.

I happen to know, through having read the original WIP of book 2 - originally titled 'Autumn Wind' - that there is so much more of an emotional journey for Nick and Chloe to embark on. 
There are things to come that instead of tugging on my heart strings will actually rip it out - but then I also know that slowly, progressively, my heart will learn to beat again. I am really looking forward to book 2, 'After Angels Fall' coming out. It will be my book to snuggle down with over Christmas. 

Thank you Jo for taking a chance on me as a reader in the very beginning. Thank you for becoming my friend and I hope you'll never forget that I am here for you. 

Thank you to all who have come by today to read my review. I hope you realise that though Jo and I are now friends, I can still write a completely unbiased review. 



Wednesday, 12 December 2012

*Cover Reveal* The Detective Inspectors - Book 4 of The Doorknob Society series.


Hey Everyone! *waves*

Here we are with the cover for the 4th book in our beloved Doorknob Society series....


"Chloe Masters life is in disarray, her best friend Edgar Magnus has been kidnapped by her mother. The Detective Inspectors of the HVO have been compromised and appear to be helping in the crime. All but one that is, Declan Hardcastle, a young DI who is more than willing to help Chloe in her quest. But is he looking for more than just friendship?Her friends are spread far and wide; Jess has begun her apprenticeship in Paris while Slade is working for the Impossible Engineers. Nightshade has returned but is he the same man and can he truly be trusted?When Chloe learns Edgar’s location it's a race against time to stop her mother’s plans and save her friend all while keeping everyone she loves alive. But the question becomes... does Chloe plan on getting out alive?"

If you haven't yet checked out the trailer, you really should. Here it is...



For more books by MJ Fletcher:
The Cape Beanery Chronicles (Short stories) Kindle | Kobo | Nook
The Doorknob Society (Book 1) Kindle (Exclusive to Amazon)
The Impossible Engineers (Book 2) Kindle | Kobo | Nook
The Mapmakers Union (Book 3) Kindle | Kobo | Nook



Thank you to everyone who came by to the cover reveal today.


Tuesday, 11 December 2012

Review of TOUCH OF DEATH by Kelly Hashway


Author: Kelly Hashway
Publication Date: Paperback: January 15th 2013
E-Book: Hopefully in time for christmas!
Source: ARC from Spencer Hill Press

*I Hereby Award This Book 5 Wings* 
(but I would gladly award it a thousand times that)

"Jodi Marshall isn’t sure how she went from normal teenager to walking disaster. One minute she’s in her junior year of high school, spending time with her amazing boyfriend and her best friend. The next she’s being stalked by some guy no one seems to know.

After the stranger, Alex, reveals himself, Jodi learns he’s not a normal teenager and neither is she. With a kiss that kills and a touch that brings the dead back to life, Jodi discovers she’s part of a branch of necromancers born under the 13th sign of the zodiac, Ophiuchus. A branch of necromancers that are descendents of Medusa. A branch of necromancers with poisoned blood writhing in their veins.

Jodi’s deadly to the living and even more deadly to the deceased. She has to leave her old, normal life behind before she hurts the people she loves. As if that isn’t difficult enough, Jodi discovers she’s the chosen one who has to save the rest of her kind from perishing at the hands of Hades. If she can’t figure out how to control her power, history will repeat itself, and her race will become extinct"

I first came across Touch of Death on Spencer Hill Press's website. I saw the cover and had to look up what it was about. From what I read [synopsis above] I knew that it was something I would LOVE to read. I put in a request for the ARC there and then. I am eternally grateful that Kate put me on the list to receive it.

Now, the book itself arrived in September 2012 and I agreed to buddy read it with a blogger friend Kay once hers arrived the following week. I had another book to read in the meantime, but boy I didn't know how much it would kill me not to read it right away - I think I died a little inside each day that I looked at it's gorgeous cover on my shelf.

Finally, I got to read it on September 30th and I loved it so much and couldn't bear to put it down so I finished it in one day. I'd say one sitting but that wouldn't quite be true, I did have to put it down to go food shopping and once in the evening because I was in so much pain (you guys know I've been poorly recently).

Before I get to my actual review, let me just point out that ToD has the most beautiful cover I have seen on a book in a long time. The only other one that I've seen that compares to it's beauty is it's sequel, Stalked By Death [pictured below]

I mean seriously, I have the pictures of the two as my Facebook/Twitter profile pictures and as my iPhone wallpaper! That's not quite how far I have gone in my love for this book though.... I also had a tattoo! [pictured below] It's on my right clavicle. I absolutely LOVE it!! 

[This was taken the day I had it done]


I also took a picture of the chapter header page and put it side by side with my tattoo!
Reading the book and seeing the picture of my tattoo all the way through was ace!! <3

Anyway I suppose I really ought to get on with my actual review, that's what you came here for after all...

Jodi Marshall was home-schooled by her mom until recently when she was enrolled in the local school. Once there, she made friends, her best friend being Melodie. She's even found herself a boyfriend, Matt. Oh Matt, what a sweet, charming, thoughtful...(I could go on) kind of guy he is. He is just the kind of guy you take home to your parents. 
Jodi's first day of school doesn't exactly go as smoothly as that of your typical junior high kid. It begins as she's driving to school. That's when she hits her first snag. By 'snag', in this instance means a deer. There's a huge dent in the front of her car and Jodi is shaken as she sees the deer lying there, dead. Only, moments pass when the deer gets up and runs of into the trees. Strange!
Her neighbour Mr Leeman pulls up in his car and asks if she needs any help but Jodi has called her mom and and she is sorting out a tow truck for the car. She can't drive it to school in that state. 

As Jodi gets to school late on her very first day, she tells the lady in the front office, Mrs Thompson, that she's late because she hit a deer. Mrs Thompson tells her she needs to get checked out by the school nurse, so Jodi goes to her office, even though she doesn't feel as though she has any injuries. Ms Steingall, the nurse, looks Jodi over and clears her for class.

It isn't until a little later that Jodi's day gets that bit stranger. It turns out that Ms Steingall died and as Jodi was one of the last people to see her alive, the police need to question her to see if she knows anything about  her sudden death. 

Not a great start to her day. As if the day couldn't get any worse, there's a guy, Green Eyes and he seems to be stalking Jodi. He turns up in class and then disappears. He turns up outside her house and ends up in a near fight with Matt.

All in all, I think we can say that it hasn't been the easiest of starts to her school life. I guess you can say it was eventful, but not really in a good way. 

Jodi volunteers for a construction project but that day isn't exactly an easy one either. Let's just say 'watch out for the squirrel' - you really, really need to read that scene for yourself. It's funny but then it's disgusting. Seriously, I was thinking to myself at the time that Kelly Hashway has a penchant for death.

[There is seriously one big missing piece here but I can't explain it without getting into spoilers and I don't want to do that because it's more exciting to read it first hand than after having read it in my review. All I can say is WOW - I didn't see it coming and I cried my eyes out. Twice.]

When Jodi finally gives in to Green Eyes and decides to end his stalking her by talking to him, she discovers a whole world out there that she has no knowledge of and isn't keen on finding out anything about. He tells her that she's special, that she has gorgon blood running through her veins. He tells her that he is the same as her and there are more of them, the are called Ophi because of their god Ophiuchus. They were all born under the 13th sign of the zodiac. He tells her that that her blood and saliva have the power to kill. It's the blood from the left side of the body that is dangerous, whereas the blood from the right can bring life rather than end it. 

With all this to take in, Jodi is sent spinning. How can she be dangerous to everyone she loves? Can she really run away with Alex [yes, Green Eyes has a name] and leave everyone behind to be with more of her kind? 
If she stays, everyone she loves will constantly be in danger from her. If she leaves, she can be with people of her own kind, but can never be in the lives of those she loves. It's such a scary predicament for her to be in. 

Decision made, Alex takes Jodi to meet his parents. They have a kind of mansion where there's a group of Ophi all living together and it turns out they are expecting her. It turns out that Alex was meant to fetch her as soon as they felt her coming into her powers. 

Upon meeting the other Ophi, Jodi makes an instant enemy out of Abigail. Turns out that's not such a surprise considering Abby has eyes for Alex and thinks that Jodi does too. But Jodi has bigger problems on her plate than petty fights with Abby. 

Jodi sees a statue of Medusa in the mansion. She looks to be made of solid gold. She seems to be calling to Jodi somehow, she feels drawn towards her. 

[Another spoiler removed]

It's not all fun and games learning to be an Ophi and harness her powers. Jodi is more powerful than any of the others and it's hard to keep it in check. There's ups and downs mainly in the form of Abby trying to cause trouble. But there's also Alex. Gorgeous, mysterious, alluring. There are so many words to describe him I won't even try. He is seriously swoon-worthy. 

As Jodi learns the secrets of her past and how she came to be Ophi, it's a long hard lesson. There are twists and turns, ups and downs and plenty of action to keep you on the edge of your seat throughout.

I went into this book knowing it was something I would enjoy. I came out of this book knowing it's something that I absolutely could not love any more than I do. I am so glad I read it. At first I thought 'oh my God, someone is going to die every chapter' - but once I got into reading it, I realised it wasn't like that at all. It's just amazing. 

Touch Of Death is a highly addictive read. You know you're hooked when you pick it up and refuse to put it down til 1:20am when you are finished. I was sitting here trying to think to myself if I could describe this book in less words than I have and I came up with two words FREAKING PHENOMENAL! But if that was all I said in my review, I'm not sure you'd buy it just on those words alone! But I tell you something, you definitely should! It is a MUST read.

If you like zombies, necromancers, mythology, gorgeous men and fantastic writing, then you need to add this to your own TBR pile. NOW!!

This is the first of Kelly Hashway's books that I have read but it certainly won't be the last. For a start there's the sequels Stalked By Death (July 2013) and Face Of Death (2014). But that's not exactly what I mean. 
This may sound silly to you now, but this woman has a fan-girl for life in me. I will read ANYTHING she writes. 

Thank you to Spencer Hill Press for giving me this ARC and for putting me on the list for Stalked By Death already. 
Thank you to Kate Kaynak who constantly puts up with me tagging photos of her on Facebook and squealing excitedly about this book.
Thank you to Kayleigh- Marie Gore who buddy read this with me and listened when I wanted to cry myself to pieces.
But the biggest thank you of all goes to Kelly Hashway. Thank you for the first installment in Jodi's story. Thank you for writing Alex into the story. Big thanks also for always listening to me when I tweet you, DM you, tag you on Facebook. I am so happy to have someone to talk to about everything Jodi!!

Lastly, but not least, thank you to everyone who's come by today to read my review.

If you want to pre-order your copy, it couldn't be easier:



Thursday, 6 December 2012

Welcome To My Stop On The Blog Tour For Reckoning by Molly Hall





Title: RECKONING
Author: Molly M. Hall
Source: e-copy provided by RABT
Publication Date: October 2nd 2012

 "They say the truth can set you free. I found out it can kill you."

Seventeen-year-old Kat Matheson has never revealed the dark secret that sets her apart from everyone else: She can see and hear the dead. Until now, she has been able to ignore the strange apparitions and whispering voices. But it may not be that simple anymore. Haunted by eerie visions and increasingly frightening nightmares, Kat begins to fear she may be the target of a dark and ominous force from beyond the grave. Complicating matters is the arrival of her new neighbor, a young man she instinctively distrusts but is inexplicably drawn to. Gorgeous and mysterious, he seems to hold a disturbing knowledge of her long-held secrets.

As she desperately tries to maintain control, events take an unexpected and violent turn. Discovering that nothing is what it seems and that her psychic abilities may involve far more than just communing with the dead, Kat may be forced to confront her worst fears and the powerful curse that controls her destiny.


Excerpt:


“Let me see your hands,” he says, moving towards me.

“What?” I exclaim, surprised by the request.
“Let me see your hands,” he repeats.
Confused, I hold out my hands, wondering what his intentions are. He turns them over, spreading my palms flat, while his thumbs trace slow tracks across the surface. Tingling tremors shoot through my wrists and up my arms. Resisting the urge to pull back, I stand there stiffly, watching the gentle, gliding movement of his fingers.
“You have gifts other than music,” he says.
My brows draw together in puzzlement. “What do you mean? How can you tell?”
“Look. See this mark?” He points to a small line on the side of my palm. “It’s called the Line of Mars. It means you have great courage.”
I stifle the urge to laugh. Me? Great courage? You should have seen me the other night, I think, jumping out of my skin at the touch of my cat. Then I immediately sober. Maybe he did.
His finger moves lower, towards my wrist. “And you have a voyage line. It means you might abandon everything. To go on a journey. Or for love.” He looks up at me.
“Hmm,” I reply nonchalantly, hoping he can’t feel the racing of my pulse. “Not likely. Where did you learn this, anyway?”
“A Hindu priest in India taught me. A long time ago. I’ve never known it to be wrong.” He bends his head back to my hands. “And this is interesting.”
“What?”
His finger traces what looks like an ‘X’ right below my ring finger. “You have the Mystic Cross.” His eyes move back up to mine, holding me with their blue intensity.
“What does that mean?” I ask softly.
“It means you have strong psychic abilities.” His middle finger glides across my palm and a shiver runs down my spine. “Not everybody has that, you know. It makes you special.”
My heart starts to pound in my chest, and my breathing becomes shallow and uneven. Get a hold of yourself, Kat. He’s probably just making it all up.
“So…what? I can, like, predict the future or something?” I try to keep my voice neutral.
“Yeah. Something like that.” The words are simple, just a casual statement. But the way he looks at me when he says them gives them more meaning. As if he knows what I see.
I snatch my hand away and step out of the booth. I’d known all along coming here with him was a bad idea. But I’d done it anyway. “Whatever. I don’t believe in any of that stuff.”


My Review:
*I hereby award this book 5 wings!*


Let's start with some cover love. I took one look at this cover and fell in love. It's dark and ethereal, just the kind of thing I adore. 

Reckoning was a great book from beginning to end. I admit it was the blurb that intrigued me when I was asked by RABT to be on the blog tour but it was the fun writing style and content of the story that kept me hooked. 
I finished this book in 2 sittings, it would have been 1 but I had to go to bed at some point. I literally had to fight to keep my eyes open because I wanted to keep reading but finally sleep won the battle. 
The thing I found most interesting about this book is something I am much looking forward to finding out more about in book 2; the fact that Katriona can see things that other people can't. I can't explain too much because I'll give it all away, but it was very compelling, it's what kept me reading. 

Up until now, Kat has been able to ignore the girl in the pink dress that she keeps seeing and the whispering voices she hears. But as time goes on, things kepp happening and it is getting harder for Kat to put out of her mind. 
She wonders if she's crazy. Why can she see and hear things that other people can't? How is it she was pushed down the stairs at school when no-one was behind her, yet she goes home and sees red hand shaped marks on her back? How is any of this possible? Is it real or has Kat just got a vivid imagination?

Then there's another reason to keep reading the book. Well two reasons really. Those reasons? Rick and Lovell. *Swoons* Rick is the boy that Kat has had a crush on all year and her best friend keeps telling her that she's sure he's into her and she should make a move. But Kat is too shy for that. 
Lovell is the handsome new next door neighbour. He's definitely swoonworthy but Kat seems only to have eyes for Rick, even though she doesn't think he even knows she exists. 

So when Rick invites Kat to a party at his house, her friend tells her she must go, that this is the chance to find out if he likes her for real. I mean, he's invited her to the party, and not just a casual "Hey I'm having a party, you should come" - no, Rick actually makes sure to invite her specifically. 

Whether he likes her or not, I really can't say. But I do enjoy the interactions between the two of them. 
Talking of enjoyable interactions, I love Lovell. There's something about him that in the beginning you can't put your finger on, but does later go on to be explained. 
Plus, you get to experience him coming out of the shower wearing nothing but a towel round his waist, a smile on his face and rivulets of water running over his abs. Do I really need to say more?!

This story sucks you in from the beginning because of the easy, fun writing style that Molly Hall has. It's quirky and really makes you turn the pages. The story is a lot of fun and I can't wait for the next book because the way this one ended made me try and turn more pages. I was at the end and absolutely desperately needed there to be more. So you can count on me to finish reading however many books are in the series and write reviews as I go along. 

Thank you RABT for the chance to be on this tour. I may never have read this book otherwise because I hadn't even heard of it until I got the invite.

Thank you Molly for weaving a world in which I hope to get lost in the future. Thank you also for creating the dreamy boys. I don't know whether to be Team Rick or Team Lovell. Usually when I read, I manage to pick my team quite easily but you have given me two delicious boys for my lust to be torn between!






Author Bio:

I’ve spent most of my life in Colorado and currently live just outside of Denver. I write my books on a laptop perched atop a rather creaky desk, surrounded by two crazy and loving cats. I love to travel and have visited 27 of the 50 states, as well as Canada, Ireland and England. And there are still a lot of places I want to go.
I spent entirely too many years in the gray dullness of the corporate world, imagining something more exciting as I punched numbers on a keyboard. During that time, I worked on a degree in English Literature, but never quite managed to complete it. Mostly because I was too busy reading and creating fantasy worlds in my head. It’s actually my love of reading and imagining that led me to take up writing full time. I thought I should finally give all the characters in my head a voice.
Music is a huge part of my life and plays a big role in the creation of my books. Although I listen to everything from Johann Sebastian Bach and Dvorak, to Glen Miller and Bobby Darin, to Rihanna and Nox Arcana, as well as movie and video game soundtracks, there are two bands whose music is practically my lifeblood: Daughtry and Linkin Park. I will listen to or see them live anytime, anywhere.
I’m a fan of British television, Doctor Who (favorite doctor? David Tennant. Let the debate begin!), The Vampire Diaries, Japanese animé, Ghost Hunters, MI-5 and Eureka. And anything featuring James McAvoy. And I probably would never be able to unwind without That 70′s Show.
When I’m not reading and writing, you'll probably find me listening to music, practicing yoga, working on my very inadequate French, playing piano, enjoying a lovely glass of red wine or champagne, or looking for inspiring landscapes to photograph.

10 Things Readers Would Be Surprised To Know About Me:


1. I don’t drink coffee. It literally makes me sick.

2. I like snakes and reptiles. They're fascinating.
3. I like to visit cemeteries. It's a phenomenal lesson in history and humility.
4. I lived for several months at an elevation of 10,152 feet. It was cold.
5. I can read upside down. And that doesn't mean standing on my head.
6. I own close to 2,000 books. I stopped counting after 1,000.
7. I can move my ears without touching them. Really.
8. I've lived in Colorado most of my life, but have never gone skiing or snowboarding. A fan of snow? Not so much.
9. I play classical piano and flute. The flute's a little rusty.
10. I have two tattoos. But I'm not going to tell you where.

Contact Links:


Twitter - @mollymhallbooks



Buy Links:





Thank you all for coming by today! Hope to see you here again soon!


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...