Sunday, 30 June 2013

Review of ALICE'S SACRIFICE by Andrea DiGiglio


Author: Andrea DiGiglio
Publication Date: March 29th 2013
Source: eARC copy provided by author for review purposes

"After the fight of a lifetime, Alice and Cole return home to live a life they were never meant to live. Fallen Angel fathers choose to stay, protect and get to know their nephilim children. Now that everyone knows where to find Alice, the real question is who is that information pertinent to? One single traumatic event sets Alice's true destiny into motion. How each of those she cares for reacts to this event; has enormous consequences for her. 

What will Alice have to sacrifice and for whom?"

*I Hereby Award This Book 5 Wings!*

If any of you have read my review for Finding Alice, you will know just how much I loved it. That being said, I think Alice's Sacrifice was even more amazing. You can't help but get sucked into the turmoil and turbulence that is Alice and Cole's life. I can honestly say, I loved Cole Corvus right from book one, but now? I love him even more and I hadn't previously thought that was possible. 

In this amazingly written second installment of the Alice Clark Series, we are given insight into more of their Fallen family and as it is written from alternating POV's, you get to experience things not only from Alice's standpoint, but also that of Cole, Penemue/Paul, Kokabiel and Jake. If you think this will make the book more confusing, don't worry because it doesn't. Andread DigGiglio has a knack of keeping things simple even when things in their world get complicated. She just makes it so easy to understand and you live vicariously through each of the characters. This gives you a more rounded view of the world they live in and the lives the Fallen lead. 

I don't really want to give much of the plot away, because I know I will get carried away, so I will try to keep my review short and sweet. 

Things in Alice's life have a knack of being complicated. But nothing could really prepare her for what was to come. Some may call it Destiny, I call it an unfair chain of events. I'm not sure I believe anyone's destiny is written in stone. I don't believe that we are born and everything that happens to us leads us to a pre-written destiny. I believe that we are born and throughout our lives, we experience things that -although they aren't always just or fair - shape us into the people we are. As for our end goal? No two people have the same end in sight, we create our own destiny by the road we choose to take in life. 

Alice and Cole just want to be happy. Is that really too much to ask? Well in their case it seems as though that is so. They never can catch a break. This time seems to be one of the worst in their time together. 

Some people believe that the End of Days is near and that Alice will be their saviour. They are ready and willing to sacrifice her to save themselves. They want to get back into the graces of God and think this is the way to go.
Meanwhile, Sariel, Paul, Kokabiel, Jake and Cole are readying themselves for what's to come and they will protect Alice at all costs, personal or otherwise. 
Cole would sacrifice himself in a heartbeat in order to save the girl he loves, but when the time comes, will Alice sacrifice herself and for whom will it be if she does?

There is plenty of quality time with Alice and Cole in this book but there is also plenty of action in it to keep you on the edge of your seat, with a few twists thrown in for good measure. 

I never knew what was coming next and I was pleasantly surprised throughout. 

Not everything that happened to Alice and Cole was good, but it was always intriguing to say the least. If you were in lust with Finding Alice, prepare to fall in LOVE with Alice's Sacrifice. 
The characters are more fleshed out in this book. It's good to find out more about Alice and Cole's fathers and their Fallen family.

If I could sum up this book in word, it would be: EPIC.
If I could sum it up in three words, they would be: BUY IT NOW.

Thank you so much Andrea for the chance to review your amazing series. Thank you for creating a world I want to dive into head first and get lost in without coming up for air. 

Thank you everyone who came by to read my review today. Hope to see you here again soon.

PS: Here are the buy links:








Friday, 28 June 2013

*Cover Reveal* FACE OF DEATH by Kelly Hashway

Hi Guys & Gals *waves*
I have been dying to see this cover and I know a lot of you have too! 
Well, wait no longer because it's here!

*ta-dah*


FACE OF DEATH
The third and final book in the TOUCH OF DEATH series.
By Kelly Hashway

Having fallen at the hands of Hades, Jodi's enduring torture like she never imagined. Worse, she has to watch her Ophi friends suffer along with her--the punishment doled out by the very people she'd sentenced to life in Tartarus. Hell. This is one reunion Jodi hoped would never happen, but now she must find a way to free them all.

Except the underworld is nearly impossible to escape.

Jodi's one chance may rest in raising the human soul she killed when she drank Medusa's blood. 
But splitting her human soul from her Ophi soul means living a double life: One as an Ophi experiencing unspeakable torture and the other as the human she could have been if she never came into her powers. With her two worlds colliding, Jodi will have to make the toughest decision she's faced yet.

Title: Face of Death (Touch of Death #3)
Author: Kelly Hashway
Publisher: Spencer Hill Press
ISBN:  978-1-937053-92-5
Release Date: 1/7/2014
Formats: Paper, e-book 



Wednesday, 26 June 2013

Review of BEYOND (Afterlife #1) by Willow Rose - Reviewed by Sarah Norfolk



Author: Willow Rose
Publication Date: September 9th 2011
Source: e-copy provided by author for review purposes

"Meghan is 16 when she dies. 

She wakes up on a flying steamboat on her way to a school run by Angels in a white marble castle. On the boat she meets Mick who has been dead for more than a hundred years but still looks like a teenager. He helps her past the difficult beginning at the new school in a new world. One day some of Meghan's roommates find a mirror in the cellar of the school and they persuade her to go through it with them - well knowing it is strictly against the rules of the school. Meghan ends up back on earth where she meets Jason. But Jason is in danger and Meghan know something important. Something that is a matter of life and death. Soon she is forced to choose between the two worlds. The one she belongs to now and the one she left."

Beyond is the first novel in Willow Rose's Afterlife series

*I Hereby Award This Book 5 Wings!*

"As I was just telling the class, I am going to teach you the History of the Afterlife. I will not only fill you in on the history of this Academy, but also the history of the Spiritual Realm. As you know, you have entered the spirit world, the world of Ru'ach. This world is filled with possibilities, and you will be amazed at what you are capable of doing.
This is your first full day in the Afterlife and there is a lot you don't know. But don't worry; by the time you graduate from this place, you will know all you need to know"
She looked at the class and turned to the blackboard behind her. It was an old-fashioned chalkboard. I noticed she had a feather pen with a silver inkwell on her desk. It occurred to me how old everything seemed to be, like nothing had happened here for hundreds of years.
"As you know by now you have all lost your physical body, but you still exist as a spirit," Mrs Higgins continued. "Not many people on earth are aware that they have a spirit that will still exist even when their physical body dies. There are several academies like this in the
Afterworld, about four hundred or so, that take care of the spirits and prepare them for the Afterlife. Just before a spirit is born into a body it is appointed to an academy and it follows you through your earthly life and helps you get to the right place once your earthly body is dead."
That explained a lot to me, like what I saw in those pictures. They had captured these people's deaths and just repeated it again and again. But I didn't understand why. What purpose did those horrible pictures have?" '

"Me" is Meghan, a sixteen year old girl who has just died  and started her new life at the Academy. "Those horrible pictures" are in a book that Meghan found, while lost, looking for her classroom on her first day at the Academy.

'I stood motionless and stared at the picture for a long time. Then as I flipped through the book, I realized all the pages were filled with pictures just like this one. And in every one of them someone was dying. I flipped twenty pages or so and saw a woman on an operating table in a hospital. I flipped a couple more and saw a young ma, no more than seventeen or eighteen, lying on the floor in a pool of blood. Someone was standing next to him. It made my heart race. The man raised a baseball bat and hit the boy with it. Then he did it again and again ; the body just lay there lifeless. My eyes filled with tears. How could anyone do something that cruel? As the man kept hitting him,the boy exhaled and his spirit emerged from him. Like in the other picture, two spirits arrived through the wall and took the boy's spirit with them and left the body behind'

We follow Meghan and her teenage classmates through their lessons and adventures in the Afterlife. Meghan ends up in a love triangle between Mick, the Academy cook and Jason, the living boy from the picture. It culminates in Meghan trying to prevent Jason's death, with unforeseen complications.

This is a powerfully moving story, simply, but elegantly written, and it left me wanting more. Luckily, it is the first in a series called Afterlife. The second book is called Serenity, and I will be reviewing it soon, as I can't get Meghan and her friends out of my head. I know the premise of this book is a bit far-fetched, but the way it is written somehow makes it totally plausible


I recommend this book for mature young adults and adults alike. The writing style is fresh, the concept unique, a real page-turner. I know that's a bit cliché, but in this instance, it's true.


Monday, 24 June 2013

I'm Taking A Much Needed Nap and There Is A New Addition To The Blog

I don't know whether many of you know this but I am taking a bit of a back seat from the blog for a while. I am trying to get my book ready for publication and am trying to juggle too many other things with BETA reading and critiquing.
This means I am no longer taking on any more BETA or critiquing work until I feel in a better position to do so. I kind of feel like I have to be Wonder Woman, what with reading, reviewing, BETA, critiquing, and writing, though I will still work with authors I already have a rapport with.


I am also introducing a new member to my humble little blog. Her name is Sarah and she is my cousin. 
Whilst I am taking a much need rest, Sarah will be reading books I don't have the time for. 
I will still work with all the authors I am currently working with, but Sarah will take new requests unless you specifically ask for me and I can spare the time.

My reviewing will always be important to me and I won't quit completely. I will still be reading books and posting reviews, I just need to take a little time to concentrate on my first book, Stolen. 


I hope you will bear with me whilst I do what needs to be done and will welcome Sarah to the world of Gothic Angel Book Reviews. 

Please be reassured, I am still here if you really need me. You can always contact me on the email address I have in the Contact tab - I will always endeavour to reply as fast as I can. If it's a new request from an author I already work with, it will be me that takes it on, but if it's just a new request, it could be either me or Sarah. 

There will still be cover reveals amongst other things going on, so please, don't go anywhere. 

Thank you all for being patient with me!




Saturday, 22 June 2013

Review of HIM by Carey Heywood

WARNING: Review contains spoilers!


Title: HIM
Author: Carey Heywood
Publication Date: June 22nd 2013
Source: ARC provided by the author for review purposes

"Sarah Miller hasn’t been home in seven years. She thought she could stay away forever. If it wasn’t for her big brother's wedding, that is. Part of her even feels silly for staying away this long. It's not like anyone even knew what happened. Well, except for him.

That guy. The one she compared all others to. The one who set the bar so high no other guy after him could even compete. The one who made her feel like anything was possible. The one she thought she would never be good enough for. The one she spent the last seven years trying to forget.
All she needs to do is make it through the next week without running into him."

*I Hereby Award This Book 5 Wings!*

I can honestly say I had to wait half an hour or more before even trying to write this review because I was a teary-eyed mess. This was such a beautiful, intense, romantic story and it melted this Ice-Queen's heart. It's not often a book will touch me in such a profound way as this one did. I was drawn into Sarah's life like I was really living it. I fell head over heels in love with 'Him' - he's so... *searches for a word*... swoonworthy, schmexy, droolworthy, lovable... Umm, I could go on but I won't.

Sarah Miller hasn't been home in seven years. Then her brother Brian announces he's getting married to Christine and Sarah has to put on her big girl panties and go home. There's just one thing she's not looking forward to about the trip. What? Him. Will Price. The boy who broke her heart all those years ago, the reason she left home in the first place.
When Sarah arrives home she makes a conscious effort to avoid him. The only problem with that is, he's everywhere she turns. 

As the preparations are made for the wedding, Sarah does all she can to stay out of his path. He's the one that broke her heart and he doesn't get a free pass on that. After what happened, Sarah was a mess. But now he's a groomsman in the wedding party so it's useless trying to avoid all social occasions that involve him, like the rehearsal dinner. But that doesn't mean that she has to do more than make small talk just to try and get him off her back. 
He follows her around like a lovesick puppy and whilst he is still as handsome as ever, if not more, he doesn't get to sniff around Sarah's heels anymore. She can't help but notice he is still the same wonderful guy she fell in love with - but that doesn't mean she wants to go there again. He broke her heart into a million pieces, perhaps even a part of her soul died that day. 

Will was Sarah's best friend. They went everywhere together, knew everything there was to know about each other. They went out for ice cream waffle cones together. Sarah was in love with him, had been for years. The trouble was, Will was dating Jessica. 
Sarah could see that Jessica was everything she wasn't and could give Will everything she couldn't. Jessica was popular, beautiful, wore all the right clothes and knew how to use her wiles to keep a boy like Will on the hook. 

One day, Will told Sarah he was thinking of breaking it off with Jessica. He said there was somebody else. How could Sarah compete? If he was dumping Jessica, it had to be for someone even better and Sarah was no match for that. Or was she?

What happens when you fall in love with your best friend?

Having broken up with Jessica, Will was free to be with the girl he really wanted, had done for years. Sarah. 
To say it came as a shock to her is an understatement and she kept wondering if it was really happening or if she was dreaming. 
Dating Will was one of the best things to have happened to Sarah. It was a dream come true. He showed her off to everyone, kissing her in public and showing the kids at school they were together. Sarah never wanted it to end. But Jessica had other ideas. [spoiler not included]

That fateful night, Sarah was a mess. She came home from the party early and decided she wanted out, she needed to leave. But where to go? Uncle Chip had always said that he was there if she needed anything, surely she could go and live with him?
She packed her bags and wrote a note to tell her parents that she had gone, then she was out of there.

Seven years had passed and Sarah hadn't gone home once. She always made excuses to her Mom that her job kept her too busy and she couldn't get away. Truth be told, she just didn't want to run into the boy who she had never managed to get over. 
But now Brian and Christine's wedding was upon her and she was a bridesmaid. She couldn't let her big brother down after all he had done for her. So she caught a flight and dragged her reluctant backside home.

She's happy to be home with her family, but she's annoyed that no-one told her that just because she left didn't mean that Will had stopped coming round. 

Will is happy Sarah came home for the wedding. He doesn't know why she left, all he knows is he was heartbroken. He tries to get Sarah alone to talk several times. She tries to talk to him once but she just can't get the past out of her head. He's the one who hurt her, not the other way round and she doesn't know why he's acting like a love sick puppy.
She calls her best friend back home and asks for her advice. She can't seem to make a clear decision on her own because of how messed up her head has become. She knew that coming back home she would see him around town, but she didn't expect that Will would still be firmly ensconced in her family's life. 

Will Sarah ever be able to forgive Will and be able to move on? Can Will ever manage to win back Sarah's affections? Well that's for you to find out for yourself.

Carey Heywood has a way of writing that really draws the reader in. She made me remember my first love and whilst I'm not in love with him anymore, he is still a part of my heart and probably always will be. We all remember that first moment we experience true love, we will never forget. It's inexplicably impossible to close off your heart to someone who put you on the path of love, even if you're not travelling the path together anymore. 

I fell head over heels for Will and I really can't wait for HER where we get to hear what happened in his life over those seven years. 

Sarah was such a lovable character. Sometimes, characters are but a caricature of a real person, but not Sarah. She's 100% real. She's tangible, she's everything a main character should be. She's strong and beautiful, even if she doesn't know it. I loved reading her story because it didn't seem like just a story being told, it felt like a life being lived. 

This book was so real that it played havoc with my emotions. I loved how alternating chapters told the story of the Past and the Present, it served to give me a really in-depth look at Sarah and Will. There were moments when I laughed, moments when I totally swooned, and a few raw moments when I had to have a good old cry. 
It wasn't just Sarah's story, it was mine. I was her and she was me. I felt the grief of losing Will like I'd lost someone myself and then when she got home, I felt that tumultuous roller coaster of feelings with her. She still loved Will, hadn't ever had a relationship that lived up to him. He had big shoes to fill and had left a huge void in her life. Not only had she lost her boyfriend, but her best friend, her soul mate. 
Was she right not going home for seven long years? If she'd gone home earlier, could things have been patched up between the two? Would they have lost those years together? That's something they'll never know. But living in the past does no-one any good and they both need to look to the future.

This is only the second book by Carey Heywood that I have read but she is now on my list of Favourite Authors whom I will need to read everything they write. Her stories pack a punch and I have found with both Stages of Grace and HIM that her stories have a very real air about them. You could have lived what was written on the pages, and if you haven't, you will once you read them.

I'd like to share two songs with you that this story made me think of as I read it (if you read the book and listen to the lyrics of these songs, you'll see why) - for those of you reading my review somewhere other than my blog, the songs are 'I Love Me Some Him' and 'I Don't Want To' by Toni Braxton....





I would like very much to thank Carey for providing the e-ARC of this amazing book. I'm glad you decided to release it early Carey, I think you made the right decision because now everyone can be touched by Sarah and Will's story. 

Thank you to everyone who came by to read my review. I hope to be able to share a review of HER with you as soon as that is released too.



Monday, 17 June 2013

*Cover Reveal* FALLING INTO LOVE by Selene Chardou

Hi Guys and Gals, today I am lucky enough to have a gorgeous cover reveal on the blog.... the wonderful Ms Selene Chardou has allowed me to bring to you the cover for FALLING INTO LOVE, the last book in the One More Night Trilogy.

Without further ado...

*ta-dah*


Gorgeous, right?!! I think this couple are so hot together. I've loved each of Selene's covers. 
Want to know more about the book? Well you're in luck. Here's the info...


Title: Falling Into Love (One More Night (Rock & Roll Trilogy))
Author: Selene Chardou
Expected release date: June 28, 2013
Genre: Contemporary
Age Group: New Adult
Cover Designed by: Stephanie Nelson from Once Upon A Time Covers

Book Description:
“Lies, sex and rock are always on the menu when touring and if this journey has taught me anything, it’s every empty, vacuous idea I had before I met Kaz was the stuff of little girl fairytales. Love isn’t pretty, pink butterflies and hearts drawn on pieces of paper, it’s scratch marks down Kaz’s back after we have wild crazy sex and the way his aquamarine eyes look into mine as if I’m his and he’s claimed every inch of my body, including my heart, mind and soul…
“This journey isn’t about up and coming stars on the rock scene—it’s about the ones who’ve made it and still can’t get it together. It’s about drug abuse and unprotected sex, it’s about my love for a man who claimed he would never fall in love yet I managed to snag him. Not because I’m pretty, blonde and have a knock out body but because I can see past his sexy, drop-dead beautiful façade and underneath are the kind of dysfunctional, wretched secrets you read about only in the most twisted romance novels.”
The final part of Kaz and Syd’s journey will have them dealing with issues they never saw coming and a few they did. Friendships will be tested and relationships will be obliterated but at the end of the day, it’s all about the music and that always comes first.
Kaz can’t fight his feelings for Syd any longer and he’s given up trying. When their togetherness seems almost perfect, a curve ball is thrown and it just might end up destroying the love they have worked so hard to keep.
Can they survive the repeated assaults against their relationship and come out on top or will the tour always come first, even at the expense of what they hold sacred?
The One More Night Trilogy is a Contemporary Romance set in the world of rock and roll:
Falling Into Lust
Available in e-book and paperback at the following e-Retailers:
Falling Into Us
Available in e-book and paperback at the following e-Retailers:

Falling Into Love

Author Biography
Selene Chardou is a world traveler and the alter-ego of Elle Chardou.
Ms. Chardou’s writing is all about hot romance and exciting times with the rich and famous set in the New Adult realm.
She is currently working on Rock My Heart, the first novel in the Scarlet Fever Series, which will chronicle the relationships of all four band members. She also has a pop stars series planned and an MC series planned that chronicles the issues between Lucifer’s Saints and Demon’s Bastards motorcycle clubs.
Ms. Chardou has lived abroad in Stockholm (Sweden), Manchester (England), Los Angeles, the San Francisco Bay Area and Portland. She currently resides in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Contact Information:
Add Falling Into Love to your Goodreads TBR List Here: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18078559-falling-into-love
Blog: The Realm of Selene Chardou located http://selenechardou.blogspot.com/
Join Selene. Chardou’s Mailing List for early notification of New Books HERE!
Follow Selene Chardou on Twitter: http://twitter.com/#!/ellechardou

So thank you for coming by to see this gorgeous cover. I hope if you haven't already that you will check out this incredible trilogy. There will be more books to come about the characters we meet, they will have a link to this trilogy but will be part of another series. 

Thank you Selene for allowing me to reveal your gorgeous cover! <3





Thursday, 13 June 2013

Review of TANGLED by Emma Chase


Title: TANGLED 
Author: Emma Chase
Publication Date: May 21st 2013

"Drew Evans is a winner. Handsome and arrogant, he makes multimillion dollar business deals and seduces New York’s most beautiful women with just a smile. He has loyal friends and an indulgent family. So why has he been shuttered in his apartment for seven days, miserable and depressed? 

He’ll tell you he has the flu.

But we all know that’s not really true.

Katherine Brooks is brilliant, beautiful and ambitious. She refuses to let anything - or anyone - derail her path to success. When Kate is hired as the new associate at Drew’s father’s investment banking firm, every aspect of the dashing playboy’s life is thrown into a tailspin. The professional competition she brings is unnerving, his attraction to her is distracting, his failure to entice her into his bed is exasperating. 

Then, just when Drew is on the cusp of having everything he wants, his overblown confidence threatens to ruin it all. Will he be able untangle his feelings of lust and tenderness, frustration and fulfillment? Will he rise to the most important challenge of his life? 

Can Drew Evans win at love? 

Tangled is not your mother’s romance novel. It is an outrageous, passionate, witty narrative about a man who knows a lot about women…just not as much as he thinks he knows. As he tells his story, Drew learns the one thing he never wanted in life, is the only thing he can’t live without"

*I Hereby Award This Book 5 of the HAWTEST Wings Possible!*

Okay so now you've read the synopsis of the book and you think you've got a pretty clear idea of what happens. Two words, you're wrong! 
If you've read even one of my previous reviews, you'll know I don't necessarily write 'professional' reviews. There are a few reasons behind that. 1) I am lousy at keeping things to a few sentences or a couple of paragraphs. 2) I write based on feelings. My feelings. People come back here to read what I thought and felt about a book. 

Okay, so that being said, have you ever seen Man v Food? Yes? Then you should get what I'm about to say. No? then I'll be as expressive as I can. "Why?" I hear you ask. "What on earth has that got to do with a book review?" Well let me tell you... The guy on the show, Adam, he goes round America to find the biggest, strangest, out of the ordinary foods. On this one episode in particular, he attempted to eat a portion of 6 chicken wings coated in something they called "Suicide Hot Sauce" Let me tell you, one bite of one wing and his mouth was like a raging inferno. He couldn't eat more than one wing, they were that hot. See where I'm going with this yet? No, okay. Well here's my point, Tangled is the book and Drew Evans is the Suicide Hot Sauce. One bite and your mouth is on fire. The best kind of fire though. He's hot, salacious and delicious. He's the kind of book boyfriend you can't daren't walk away from. 

Now then, shall I tell you my feelings on the book, or can't you handle the heat? 'Cause you know what they say "If you can't stand the heat, get out of the kitchen" Well if you can't stand the heat, don't read my review! *giggles* I really hope you can stand a little fire... 'Cause if not, you really shouldn't read this book.
If I have you interested by now, then sit back and make yourself comfortable and listen to the rest.

Drew Evans is an achiever. Maybe even an over-achiever. He's used to winning. He's disarmingly handsome (some call it 'panty-droppingly' so) and he's egomaniacal, narcissistic, the list could go on. He makes multimillion-dollar business transactions every day of his life. He's eager, he's fabulous at his job -he isn't on the fast-track to success - he's already there! He has women queueing around the block. They flaunt themselves and fall at his feet in a bid to be the one-nighter he takes home.
He has very loyal friends and is definitely a mummy's boy. To say his Dad who runs the firm he works for is proud of him is the understatement of the century.

So why has Drew now become a recluse? He's shut himself in his very expensive home and does nothing but sit and ache and wallow in self-pity. He has the money to make someone play the world's smallest violin for him - but they don't. He hasn't been out of his apartment for seven full days. Misery? Depression? Flu? What is it exactly that Drew is suffering from? Well to find that out, the author takes us back four months.

Now I have to say at this point that whether it be in a book, a film or a television programme, I do not like 24 hours earlier etc. I am just not a fan. Not to the point of not wanting to read/watch. I just find them irritating. However... and you knew that was coming didn't you? Yes, however, I ran with it in this instance. I didn't know what the author had planned so I stayed tuned. 

Allow me to introduce you to the other main player in this book. Katherine Brooks. She's educated, sophisticated, ambitious and not to mention abso-freakin-lutely stunning. She is unwilling to allow anyone or anything to get in the middle of her path to success. She's a very goal-oriented woman and if you add to the mix; feisty, sharp-witted, and a taker of no fools, you have yourself an amazing young woman.
Kate gets hired as the new associate for Drew's Dad's firm. You can imagine how Drew feels when he sees this beautiful woman in front of him. But he has a rule: Don't sh*t where you eat - don't sleep with anyone at work.

When Drew's Dad calls him into the office to talk about the next big investor they have coming in for their services, he knows his Dad will give the client to him. He's the firm's most successful investment banker after all. Plus, he's his Dad's right-hand man, so it's pretty much a given. Only it's not. Drew's Dad wants to see if Kate is made of the right stuff to take on the client. Now we all know how this is going to go down with Drew - like a lead balloon. He's worked for his Dad for years, always bring his A-game to the table, giving it his all. But Kate, the associate? She's only just started. Why should she get first dibs on such a client? Oh it's nothing to do with her being a woman, this is all to do with how driven to succeed Drew is and now he stands to lose to someone - something he's not at all used to. So Drew's Dad offers him the chance to prepare to take on this client and tells him that both he and Kate have to come up with a presentation. The best one gets the client. Simple. Or maybe not. 

Can you tell where this is headed? Oh yes. They have to work TOGETHER. Now that goes down worse than a lead balloon. They are both very competitive people. Driven to succeed. Eager to bring their A-game to the table - the only trouble is, they are both too stubborn and constantly butt heads. It feels like a full-on war. 
But eager to prove to the boss that she can compromise and work well as part of a team within the firm, Kate finally submits. She doesn't give in to Drew, no, she reaches compromises. It's all that could be done in their situation.

Drew still wants her something bad. He's willing to forget the rule about not sleeping with co-workers. Trouble is, he's all one-night stands. He never lets a woman into his bed on general principle that he has to sleep there afterwards. There's never a repeat performance. These girls count themselves lucky that Drew would look their way at all, so he's gone on about his life this way for as long as he can remember. He doesn't have girlfriends or feelings. He doesn't want marriage, babies, the whole enchilada. He wants more or less 'wham-bam-thank you ma'am' - this has never been an issue. Until now. 

When Drew looks at Kate, he wants her. When he's alone in his office, he's thinking about her. She's the only woman that he knows (other than his sister) that can go toe to toe with him and not back down. She's a first-class, beautiful woman who won't put her hands in the air and say 'Okay Drew, you win' just to get out of arguing with him. No, she'd rather argue. She has fire in her veins. How could he not find her sexy?

But did I neglect to mention, she's also engaged! Okay so she's engaged to a complete and utter spineless moron. But she's spent over a decade with Billy, they're like a comfortable pair of slippers. Maybe a little worn but they hold together. Billy is a singer in a band. Drew sees him as worthless and pathetic. I have to say, I wholly agree with him. Billy isn't a successful, driven, eager young man who's beating heart pumps fire through his veins like Kate. You couldn't want for a more mismatched couple. But Kate won't cheat. She won't even admit she likes Drew, but if she did, she'd be unable to act on those feelings. She has morals.

Then just when it seems as though Drew is going to get everything he wants, his ego threatens to pull it all down around him like a pile of rubble. Everything he expertly crafted like a well-built house of cards is going to topple and what can he do except wait for the inevitable and watch it fall? 

Will Drew be able to admit that for the first time in his life he has real feelings for a woman, that she's not just some one-time thing, never to be repeated? Will he bare his soul and what will happen if he does?

Emma Chase has brought the best male POV book I have ever read to the table and let me tell you this will take some beating. I don't even know if her own sequel can live up to the standard of this book. All I can say is, I damn well hope it can. I want to experience more of the same raw and edgy, yet tender and passionate feelings that this book made me go through.
In all honesty, this book was like a riding a very tumultuous roller coaster with a blindfold on. You don't know what's coming, all you know is what you feel. Sometimes you feel high like you're on top of the world, other times you feel like your stomach has been upturned - you know the feeling I mean - and when you get off the roller coaster, you don't know whether to laugh, cry, or get on the damn thing again. 

I won't tell lies and I won't sugar-coat things either. Drew is no angel. There's a reference made within the book about there being 3 varieties of the male species, boys, guys and men. I won't tell you the definitions of each, suffice to say, Drew is a guy who grows and becomes the man that you as the reader want him to be. 
His story makes me laugh, it makes me cry, it makes me feel like punching the snot out of Drew... see, told you I wouldn't lie. There's a such a range of emotions to be felt within these pages, ranging from but not limited to lust, arousal, tenderness, passion, happiness, elation, regret, betrayal and deep-seated hurt. 

I am in awe of Emma Chase right now. I wish I had the guts to try and write in this genre never mind as brilliantly as this is written. If I was rating her as an author, on a scale of 1-10, she'd be off the scale at about a 12. As for rating this book, I can hardly bear to rate it a mere 5 stars because it deserves more. Honestly, I implore you to go and purchase this book right this minute. (But if you are one of the few who won't like it then please don't blame it on me as this is obviously only my personal opinion - I don't have mind-meld powers to make you go out and do my bidding. Oh how I wish I did *evil laugh*)

This definitely isn't your Mills and Boon romance, nor is it pornographic. It is simply an eloquently written book that happens to contains some brilliantly written sex-scenes. Some of you may think that it was reading Fifty Shades of Grey that got me into reading the genre and let me tell you, you'd be wrong. Yes I read and loved Fifty Shades but I was reading smutty books well before EL James published those. I guess if I'm being honest though, I feel I can be more open in telling people that I am reading something saucy. That fact probably is down to EL James and I think a lot of us can thank her for that. 
I personally thank Emma for writing from Drew's POV not Kate's. Though I wouldn't mind book #2, Twisted, being from her POV. I think it's amazing that as a woman, she basically wrote something akin to a diary of a man (though we know men don't write diaries... do they?) I also feel she's imparted some vital information. This book is entertaining and informative. You can't get much better than that. Which bits are the vital pearls of wisdom? Don't ask me, find out for yourself.

Okay so it's time for me to go now. I've kept y'all here far too long and I need my bed anyhow. I hope you enjoyed my review and I hope you enjoy the book.

I'll leave you with a video of a song in the book (I love me some country and the lyrics are perfection - I imagine Drew singing)



See you here again soon!





Tuesday, 11 June 2013

Review of TRIANGLES by Kimberly Ann Miller


Title: TRIANGLES
Publication Date: June 18th 2013
Source: ARC provided by Spencer Hill Press for review purposes

"A cruise ship. A beautiful island. Two sexy guys. What could possibly go wrong? 

In the Bermuda Triangle—a lot.

Hoping to leave behind the reminders of her crappy life--her father's death years ago, her mother's medical problems, and the loser who’s practically stalking her--seventeen-year-old Autumn Taylor hops on a ship with her sister for a little distraction. When she wakes up in the Bermuda Triangle, she fears she's gone nuts for more than one reason: that loser’s suddenly claiming they're a happy couple... a hot guy is wrapping his arms around her and saying "Happy Anniversary"... and suddenly, she’s full of bruises, losing her hair, and getting IV medication. Autumn visits the ship's doctor, hoping for a pill or a shot to make the craziness go away. Instead, she's warned that these "alternate realities" could become permanent.

She just has to ask herself one question—how the hell is she going to get out of this mess?"

*I Hereby Award This Book 4 Wings!*

I'm not entirely sure where to begin this review. I had such mixed emotions at the beginning of this book that I was sure I wasn't going to be able to give it more than 3 wings. Sounds harsh, right?! But hey, my reviews are meant to be honest and that's what this is. Honest. 
So anyway, this book began with Autumn being one of the meanest girls since the film Mean Girls. I was absolutely sure that nothing could redeem her and that I would end the book hating her even more.
But, and that's a big BUT... I actually ended up liking her. Trust me, no-one was more shocked than me! I actually ended the book with tears in my eyes. That's something I didn't think I'd do.

So... how to describe this book and the tumultuous journey that Autumn had on this cruise... Well....

Autumn Taylor blames herself for the death of her father and for the accident that put her mother in the hospital. Her sister Jessica wants to take her on the cruise that their mother had planned. Maybe they can escape from reality for a while... But Autumn gets more than she bargained for when her life is thrown into ultimate chaos. 
The cruise was meant to be a time to relax and let her hair down. But Autumn faces dilemma's one after the other from the moment they enter the area known as the "Bermuda Triangle". 

Having believed she left her 'stalker' behind at home, she's all too shocked to learn that Joey is actually on board the cruise too. Joey follows her around like a lost puppy back home. They work at the same auto shop and he has a crush on her. Autumn is less than happy to find that he's not only on board the ship but he is also seated next to her at meal times. Can't a girl catch a break?

Autumn spends her time trying to avoid Joey and finds comfort when she realises Marcus, also someone she knows from back home, is on board. She finds Marcus attractive and she likes spending time in his company. 

All isn't going too badly until one morning Autumn awakes and when she goes for breakfast, she's confronted by Marcus who is all over her like a rash. She likes him but so far they haven't even shared one kiss, yet on this morning, Marcus tells her that they are celebrating their anniversary. How can this be so when yesterday they barely knew each other?

Things seem to spiral from there for Autumn. Each day she awakes to wonder if today everything will be back to normal - but things are further from normal with each day that comes to pass. Autumn has so many things go wrong in such a short period of time and she doesn't know what to do or who to turn to. She can't tell her sister about it because she'll surely think she's crazy. 

I can't tell you what happens during Autumn's time in the Bermuda Triangle but I will tell you she is in for a very tumultuous journey. From boy troubles to falling out with Jess, to losing her hair... each of the days that pass is somehow worse than the previous one. Which one will end up being her 'permanent reality'?  Will she ever get back to the life that she had before the cruise?

One thing Autumn never thought she'd do was feel anything for Joey. But could that be about to change? Will she end up with Marcus? Will she end up with Joey? Or neither, perhaps...

I began this book thinking Autumn wasn't a very nice person [my polite way of putting it] but she learns something about herself during these fast-changing times. Does she learn to grow up? Well, she redeemed herself in my eyes, that's all I can say. 

This book was quite fast-paced and though I started it wanting to strangle Autumn, it was still a fun journey for me. I liked it when things constantly changed and it felt like the rug was pulled from under her feet. I wanted things to push her to grow up and be a nicer person to those around her. I was pleased with the outcome when she got back home. When you read the book you'll probably wonder why I was happy it ended like it did, but though (bleep) happened to Autumn at the end, it was still a good outcome afterwards- I can't explain things better than that. I know you probably feel confused reading this. I feel confused writing it ;)

I am glad I got an ARC of Triangles from Spencer Hill Press. I have heard that there'll be other books in the series but that they won't be about Autumn. I think that's a shame, I think it would be good to see what happens after she got back home. 

Thank you to SHP and to Kimberly Ann Miller. Thank you also to anyone who came to read this review. 




Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...